Tags

, , ,

This is the very heavy US Politics post.  I talk about Fox and Socks next week as a balance to this.  So if you want to keep reading me in a political athiestic kind of way, come back to next blog.

Okay?

Let the show begin.

 

orwell-quotes-steel-concrete

This is not the only Orwell quote I’m going to use.  It is however the link between the recent blog post and this one.  But even though I confess that racism is a huge problem in the United States, there are bigger issues to be mentioned here.

Let’s go with the obvious elephant.

The United States is an open fascism.

Now, I’m not saying the US is a nazi party.   Nor am I saying the Hitler word.  However, I don’t think the argument exists to countermand this statement.  After all, another quote I want to say before I continue is this:

“Fascism should more appropriately be called Corporatism because it is a merger of state and corporate power”  Mussolini.

If this quote is accurate, I do not think that there is a more perfect example of this than Trump himself.   Trump is the living representative of that merger.  I don’t think there is a counterargument to this.

Normally this is the place where I’d post a picture of the trumpophant.  I’m not doing that.  I’ve listened to the damage this man has caused on my facebook feed.  I don’t need to watch him on television nor do I need to follow his twitter.  Nor do I need to actually even try to listen to this man.

His superpower seems to be to get grown people to say and repeat what he does.   I find out that a kerfluffle on his twitter feed made the rounds all over my board.  And then after that I decided that this man has far too much power.

See, he’s a polarizing individual at the best of times.  And polarizing is good for ratings on television and clicks on the internet.  Polarizing is not what I want to see reflected on my very many friends on facebook.

Now, people may have differing opinions on just how good a president he is, and I won’t comment there.  I will say however that his true gift is how he manipulates the media into giving him all the publicity he could possibly want.  That I feel is his real power.  And he’s good at it.  You have to admire a man who is doing what he is best at.

I cannot do much about how he governs at this point, nor do I care to really care that much.  Instead, I decided that I would ignore what the man is saying and watching what the country is doing instead.

I suggest you do the same.

If you really want him gone, ignore his platforms.  As long as he is on the news, don’t watch the news. Do some research and due diligence on your own.  We have the all powerful internet at our beck and call.  We do not need to pollute ourselves with  fake news.  Let’s focus on the real issues.

Which may lead to the most damning element of all.

As a people we need to ask ourselves one question.  How did the US get there?  That answer is a book or two or a dozen, but if I had to sum it up, it would probably be the next statement.

Americans are ignorant of their own system and don’t know how to fix it.

orwell-quotes-power-end

Call me cynical, but I have seen Charlottesville before.  I saw it with Rodney King.  I’ve seen it with other riots, protests, police arrests.  Yet, why is this response so violent?  Why is this being encouraged with apathy from above?

Because this isn’t just about race.  This is about class as well.   The US has a ton of problems ranging from its gun making – crazy when you consider the levels of destruction that are available to purchase today.   Kids are coming out of high school capable of running down a football field in record times, but haven’t touched books since elementary school.  How are they going to get to college?

Then there’s how money and taxes work.  The many government alphabet agencies that are out there.  Does anyone know how all the jurisdictions work?

So you have a government that is big and complicated and a mess that only seems to have their own agenda in mind, which seems of a more corporate variety…everything from medicine, to education, to prisons are all a business.

Not good.  We the people…who are the people?  Because it seems like no one I know.

How did we get there?  What do we do?

Maybe the reason we fight each other so much is because we don’t know what else to do.  I realize that when it comes to america no one has an easy answer.  How did we get here?  What can we do?  Standing up and speaking about it is a good first step, but it’s not enough.  Things need to change.

We need to be aware of what’s going on.   Instead of arguing about right and left, we should talk about what we want as a country and take a good long look at the face of it.  Because the truly scary thing about Trump is this – he is only the beginning if nothing changes.

And change is what we need.  Because we can tell the direction we are going in is not great.  What we need, more than anything, is to understand each other.  Turn off the distractions, and focus on what is real.  Focus on the secret beyond the illusion.

Trump at the end of the day is a character on television.  Perhaps that’s the biggest elephant of all.

We now return to regularly scheduled programming.