Tags

, , , , , , ,

Part 1 of this blog can be read here. Part 2 can be read here.  I suggest you do that before you continue.

Once upon a time there was a poet who wrote two epic poems.   Both of them by accident, both of them by magic.  Once upon a time the poet realized that he could write this world and these characters forever.  They were a part of him and he them.  They had enriched his world and made him better by coming to be.

And yet…

Times had changed.  They had nearly said everything they needed to say to him.  And he in turn had other stories to tell.  The sad truth the poet realized that once upon a time, is that even though that he could keep writing forever, him and his characters needed to go their separate ways.

This is where I started on this journey.

Rime of Ancient Mariner

I will never presume mine is better.  Coleridge is a master and someone that I can always go back to for more inspiration.  I’m not sure if mine will ever have that kind of impact.  I hope (what artist doesn’t?), but I don’t know for sure.

That said, I’m proud.

WanderingGod-Cover-SML

This is where it finishes.

All journey’s evolve.

This is a story about the journey.  A vision from the Wandering God compels the Watcher to seek the city at the end of the world, and save the Wandering God before the Dragons get him first.

The Wandering God came to me like a poem in of itself.  A being who creates everything and leaves, always wandering onto new ideas, leaving behind old ideas without a second thought, or a whim.  I feel every writer is a bit of a wandering deity.  We create our creations and then move on.

Writing this book taught me why this was so.  I love my characters.  I love Will and his inventive mischief.  I love Nicki for being the smallest, fiercest person I know.  I love Kristen, for she is the toughest person I’ve ever met.

But we all have to change and grow and when I set out to write it I knew when I got to the other side of the story, that I had to put it down.  I owed them that.  For this world and these characters and this place and this time, I’ve said what I’ve needed to say.

This one was more planned than the others.  I knew the fate of the Wandering God, and I knew what the stakes really were.  I had an ending (mostly).  So I let them walk and guide me to the end of their story, wherever it lay.

I didn’t expect some of the things in there that happened. I didn’t expect the rock people that came to me.  Nor the empty space between nature and the city itself.  Perhaps my favorite chapter in this story is “Stories In An Empty World” where each kid tells a story about the empty and how it may have came to be.

It’s a grand adventure, with monsters, wonders and joys and sadness.

And it has an end.

 

This book to me is a culmination of a story of a journey in my head.  Writing this made me realize there were things about my health and my place that needed to change.  None of us can afford the danger of stillness.  No matter how happy or sad we are, we have to keep moving forward, for time always goes on.

We have to make the moments count.

So what’s next now?  I have no idea in terms of epic poetry.  I do have some ideas, but this is the last story in this world.  With the first we talked about freedom, the second, we talked about family.  This story was about faith in the journey itself and where it leads.  I hope if you get to the end you have the same satisfaction I did.

I guess there are only two things left to say.  The first is a caution.  Just because this blog says they lived happily ever after doesn’t mean that they in fact do.  I do promise that there is an end.  Beyond that?  Not telling.  Buy this book on October 17th, 2017 and find out.

The second?  Thank you for letting me explore this Once Upon A Time.  I learned so much on this journey.  I’m happy it happened.

Once upon a time, there was a boy in a tower, who dreamed of a world without dragons and once upon a time there lived a poet to tell his story.  #thereismore #thestormishere #greaterworldsthanthese #happilyeverafter