Tags

, , ,

First things first…

broken-chains-png-30

Man, it feels good.

I looked at my pay stub from my day job and noticed that my garnishment was a lot smaller than it had been.

I did it.  I’m out.

I’m free.

The last few months were tough.  I had been garnished.  I’ve been through attempted blackmail, struggling to make my bills pay.  You know the usual curveballs life throws at you.  Even this last week – right when this week’s check goes back to me, the day job looks like it’s about to go on strike.  Fortunately that didn’t happen, so that thoughts of me wondering how to make twenty dollar grocery purchases could go away.

There are no perfect moments.  Even though those struggles are over, I know other struggles are going to come my way.  It’s life.  If you wait for those perfect moments to do something, they don’t come.

You got to go for it.  And this year, I have been.

 

And this year so far…

  • I’ve sent one book to a publisher.I’ve written a second book, and am typing it up for betas.  It’s about 50% (a little behind schedule) but I’m getting there.
  • The third book is being co written.
  • I’ve submitted an essay to a reputable magazine.
  • I’ve submitted an epic style poem to an anthology.
  • My podcast cracked the top 1000 and saw it rise to 576 on podomatic.  Not bad with a place with over 15 000 podcasts.
  • I may have a forth project in the realm of comics this year.

We are at March 31st and this is what I’ve accomplished so far.  I have so much farther to go.

Somehow, someway, I got to release three books, do a live podcast, continue the podcasts, add to a youtube channel, travel, meet people, and deliver on every single promise I have made to myself this year.

I like challenges.  I like doing things.  I like stepping up and going for giant leaps into the unknown.   I like delivering on cue.   I like to see what i can and can’t do.

I like having things in front of me.  I like having obstacles to climb.  I like risking failure. I like risking disappointment.  I didn’t always like this stuff.  Once upon a time I wanted to shrink away and pretend that I was the smallest thing out there.

I don’t got time for that anymore.  Size and scope are not my concerns with what I do.  My concerns are doing the things that make me happy.

I have to bet on me.  So far this is what I’ve done.  Now comes the point to go forward and take the chance that I’m as good as I feel I am.  It’s megalomaniacal, but megalomania is a necessary trait.  You need ego and confidence to bet on yourself.  You need to be fearless.

I have failed on my tasks.  I will keep failing.  But each and every time I fall, I come out stronger.  I learn more about myself.

Then I try again.

This may sound self aggrandizing.  It is a little, if I’m honest.  I’m proud of what I’ve done with my life, and I’m not ashamed to admit that.  But you have to have that faith in yourself that you can do the things that you set out to do in order to do it.  Very few people are so lucky that things falls into their lap.  Even if it does, out of that bunch, fewer still have the wisdom and fortitude to take advantage of the opportunities presented to them.

Rise up.  You can do whatever you set your mind to.  Find your purpose and make it drive you.   It will get you into a place you wouldn’t believe you’d find yourself in.  What you can do too with that purpose?  Incredible.

Enough pep talk.  I got things to do, ass to kick and risks to take.

Be bold.