Tags

, , ,

Perspective is everything.

Today I ran into an old boss.  I used to work at a chain of grocery stores called Safeway.  Safeway was a decent employee by and large.  I worked in a small grocery store based out of Kensington and it was for me a great starting point from my experiences in Arizona.  Arizona has been mentioned in the past of kicking my ass hard, and while that was a good experience, I was a broken mess and I needed a fresh start.

Ironically, if I had chosen to stay in the states, Safeway very well might have been my next job.  I had a job interview for it in Show Low, Arizona.  A month later, in Calgary Alberta, I ended up working there.

The job wasn’t anything special, but it was a good come back for me.  My experience working in grocery stores was a big help and I found myself regaining my footwork back into life.

She wasn’t my first boss, but she was the one I worked with the most.  I’m not going to say we were friends, but she was very accommodating to my schedule and what I was willing to do to rebuild.  And when it was my time to leave, she let me go early.

So there I was, looking for some emergency cleaning supplies, and there she was, doing the work required in the store.  We talked, exchanged pleasantries, and I managed to get out two important words.

“Thank you.”

A lot of people didn’t like her, but she was good to me.  So once again, Thank you.

gratitude

Let’s take it to another level.

I have a friend on facebook I call Rockstar.  Rockstar every night goes through her day and lists all the things that happened to her that she’s thankful for.  Every night I read it.  And it’s not big things most of the time.  Most of the time it’s the little moments in life.  People singing her happy birthday, people saying hi, that kind of thing.

Her life is much harder than mine.  Yet, each and every day no matter what struggles I may think about, I watch her and go “Damn.  She’s got me beat and she still carries on.”

So thank you Rockstar.

Sometimes it’s the smallest things that you need to remember.  We all struggle.  Right now I am going through my obstacles.  Yet for all the moments that have gone wrong the last couple, I’m grateful for a lot of things that have gone right

I am grateful for the fact that I have books coming out this year.  I am grateful that I have good people that I work with and that they’ve been so understanding.  I am grateful that so many people want to be on my podcast.  It’s such a surreal thing to me.  I’ve already talked to some amazing people this year.  You can listen to some of them right now and I encourage you to do so.

I am thankful I am still here struggling.  I am thankful that all this will pass.  And I find that for all I am going through,  I am able to smile about it most of the time.

How do I stay so positive?  I’m thankful.

Whatever you do in life, you always should be thankful to whomever gives you the time of day.  My time in Arizona taught me that nobody owes you anything.  Chances are given on whims.  Opportunities are not certain.

And when you are given them, make sure you thank the people you work with, and the people you help.  In Stormdancer, my most recent release, I made it a point to acknowledge just about each and every person I worked with in the last few years that had a positive influence during my time.   One of the other cool things about thanking people?  You take a moment and realize just how much people do for you.  It’s really humbling.

I have taken this to some extremes.  I’m still looking for some of the people that helped me back when I was a kid…and…

well, this year (because I know she’s not reading this) I made a promise that this year I’d keep my promise to my grandmother.  When I was a kid, I promised her that I’d buy her diamonds someday.   I remember getting a bracelet from a cereal box and found a whole bunch of diamond stickers on it.  I put together the bracelet, surrounding them with diamonds and gave it to her.

She still has it to this day.

I’m going to add something to it.  Not because she was serious, but because I’m that grateful.  My grandmother is one of the pillars of my life.  I love her more than she knows.  So Nanna, thank you.

Go forth and if nothing else, remember that you are still living.  That alone is reason to be thankful.

tide-of-love-gratitude-ma