Tags

Before i start this blog is should mention that I have started a newsletter. If you want to hear me talk about supwrvillains and authors,ando see me experiment with mediums you can subscribe here at The Pants Line.

Subscribe and come back.

Cool?  Cool.

I am sitting in Windsor Ontario just before dawn. Soon I will see one of my own personal heroes. Tonight I got to also see one of my oldest friends in the world.  We talk about that mostly graceful move into middle age.

But we also talk about success.   Neither of us thought we would be where we are.  Now I am sure that no one really has the same model of success our parents had in this day and age. But it’s easy to look at what others have and what you don’t and second guess yourself.

My friend surprised me by saying that I may be the most successful of us all. “You’re living your dream,”  he said.  “you inspire me.

I have to admit that typing is gives me chills.  I never expected to hear that.  It still stuns me.

But we do this to ourselves all the time.  I am right in the sense that I am doing nothing that special.  I am just facing my daily struggles.  All of us do that.

But on the same token, isn’t that amazing?  Everyday we all fans email the struggles in our lives.  I know people personally that face things I honestly have no concept on how to deal with.  I know people who struggle to make their dreams come true.  I know people who seek change, whether it’s going back to school or overcoming depression.

The fact of the matter is that we pay attention to each other’s challenges. We don’t always have answers but we respect when people rise up and face them head on.  It’s not always about the big successes; rather it’s about the little victories, and not accepting defeat.

My friend reminded me of this.  If you are reading  this, I am proud of you man.   Keep going.  To the rest, keep being incredible. You amaze me doing what you do.  I am flattered some of you feel the same.