Tags

, , , ,

I can hear the groan in many a philosopher friend of mine reading this title.  “ANOTHER preachy thing about wanting something really really bad to succeed?”  Well, yeah, kind of.  But I promise a really personal slant about this.  an email just now and really thought about something.  What is the difference between someone that succeeds and someone that fails?  Keep in mind, I’m not talking about individual moments.

We all have plenty of failures there.

Writing is the business of rejection.   I’ve been told no far more times than I’ve been told yes.  “No, we can’t publish this story.” “No, this idea is awesome, but your word choices…not so much.”

With book 3 closer and closer to being completed I’m thinking more and more about my next challenges in the writing biz.  I want to do prose and comics next.  I have a deep love for comics and think I’m finally ready to try an awesome project or two.

(In fact, a revolution may be announced sooner or later.  I digress for now, but stay tuned…)

I had an agent interested in my ideas.  I rushed through putting all the pieces of the novel together for a writing marathon, thanks to my friends at Write Club.  I submitted it with my fingers crossed.  It turns out I’ll have to keep crossing them for awhile longer.

Old me a long time ago would have been crushed.  You don’t recognize the greatness of my writing?  That’s…that’s…inconceivable.   Modern me, has a more mature approach.  I wasn’t good enough…then.   Now?  Who knows?  But I will try again.   They are still interested.

Some of my interests have led me to go down different roads.  I’m trying my damnedest right now to get into the publicity thing.  I may not be successful at this.  It’s still in the air.  That said, I’m doing what I can.  This is about getting out there, getting contacts and making things happen.  If there is one thing I am good at is making things happen.  What remains to be seen.

But I could go and on.  Individual failures are still going to happen no matter where I go or what I do.  That’s life.  I got to take chances.

Individual failures is however, not failure in itself.  It’s one thing to fail in that moment; it’s another to accept failure as the way it has to be.

Failure is not something you have to accept.  The idea of trying again and again is a good thing.  We all get floored by failure, but none of us have to stay down.  We can get up, learn from our failures and keep going.

Here’s the part of this blog that isn’t talked about very much.   This all sounds so simple.  It’s easy to hear this.  But let me ask you something – have you considered how to do something?

When we fail, there can be a myriad of reasons why you fail.  Sometimes there are factors beyond your control, but more often than not, there are lessons in failure with how you do things.  A lot of my own failures have been in two key areas.  The first is how I present things.  I have great ideas but in writing and in life, sometimes the presentation of how I do things throw things off.  While I can contend that some of what I do wasn’t wanted, the truth is I wasn’t prepared, and ill equipped to handle some of the opportunities I wanted.

See?  Life lessons.  That said, I still don’t have it all together.  I’ll keep failing and learning.

The key in this is learning.  You can never stop learning.   If you are willing to learn, you will move past your failures.

That’s only the first part of the equation.  The second harkens back to the title of this blog.  Learning your lessons – what worked, and what didn’t, is only one half of the equation.  The other half is desire.  After you learn, there is a question you need to ask yourself.

Do you still want it?  Are you willing to work with this?

If the answer is no, it’s time to stop.  It’s okay to walk away.  That’s not failure.   It’s the work.  Getting up is tough, and going forward is never easy.  It’s a struggle.

For me, I still am enjoying the journey I’m on.  I’m writing good work, and seeing projects and doors open I never even dreamed were possible.  I am making things happen.  I still want it, after all this time.