Tags

, ,

I usually go on a thank you rant to a lot of people when good things happen.  What I often don’t talk about is why.

Arizona time:  I remember when I was down and had nothing, and was doing my best just to survive.  A lot of people stepped up and helped me.  They never asked questions and they never judged me.  They saw me as someone that was trying, and aided and making sure I kept going.

One of the places that helped me was Trappers.  Trappers is a great little place in Taylor, Arizona that is worth going to if for nothing else, their pies.  Amazing little restaurant.  A couple of times while I had to traverse cities via jaywalking at night, they’d stop me and offer me a free meal.  They knew I couldn’t pay for it, and yet never questioned it.

I have never ever forgotten that. Next time I go there, I want to thank them.   I know how I’m going to do it.

Thank you may actually be the most important currency of all now that I think of it.  It’s not necessary.  We don’t live in a tit for tat universe, contrary to what bill collectors may tell you.  We live in a world where people can choose to give and people can choose to not expect anything in return.   But it’s nice to hear it.  It shows appreciation and people want perhaps more than anything to be appreciated.

No one has to help you in this world.  You are not owed anything by anyone.  The fact that people are willing to help you at all is a blessing.  I know I feel it all the time, and I always try to appreciate it and the people helping me.

This concept came to me reading LE Modesitt Jr.’s Recluse series.  He talks about the importance of paying debts.  It wasn’t money, but rather making sure to take the time to make sure you let people you know you are grateful to them.

Today I went and did that a little bit.  I went to a place called Metal Galaxy, who I interviewed not too long ago for my podcast.  Thanks to them, something amazing happened to me this week.   I wanted to make sure that they knew I was grateful.  I went an thanked them personally.  It’s not much, compared to what they’ve given me, but I needed to let them know I was grateful.

I still have more to do.  I have my dad to thank this week.  I got a few things from other people I need to meet and make sure they feel the same.  It’s important to me to make sure that they know and continue to know how much I am thankful the people that help me do so.

But before I continue doing all that, doing my publicity stuff and a few other things, I just want to say here to my readers the following:

Thank you.  You never had to come here, and you never had to stop by and say hello.  Yet you have and you did and I am grateful.  Because of all of you, I’m able to do what I am doing.

Try to go out there and say thank you to those that are willing to stand by you.  It’s important.  So I’m doing so here, right now.

Thank you.