Tags

, , , , ,

As I keep catching up, check out my latest Wrestling Column at Wrestling Glory Days right here.  Give it a read.  I’ll be right back before you know it.

Alright?  Alright.  Let’s get cracking.

I keep catching up on Just Joshing with Michell Plested.  Michell is a jack of all trades.  Publisher, writer extraordinaire, and a podcaster in his own right.  Michell has created a publisher called Evil Alter Ego Press.  The first books from the publisher is the Mik Murdoch Boy Superhero series.  Books 1 and 2 were previously released from the publisher, but the new one is being released at When Words Collide.

Michell is also a boy scout leader and an amazing storyteller.  I first encountered Michell at my own taste of local authors event.  He had the crowd in the palm of his hand, and his concept was nothing short of amazing.  I wanted him on the podcast and he graciously agreed.

Of course, then I blew it on the first try.  I had a great conversation with him and my phone somehow deleted it.  Michell was gracious enough to let me have a conversation with him again, and it aired last week on the just joshing podcast.

Below is a brief interview.

IMG_20160604_131901[1]

Joshua Pantalleresco: What are you working on right this minute?

Michell Plested:  I am getting Mik Murdoch: Crisis of Conscience ready for the printer. That
and writing Scouts of the Apocalypse: Zombie War.

JP: For those people who are not aware, who or what is Evil Alter Ego press?

MP:  Evil Alter Ego Press (EAEP) is an independent publisher that focuses on
Young Adult books. EAEP isn’t overly fussy about the genre – just good
books that will delight readers.

JP:  Considering your apparent love of comics, have you ever thought of doing graphic novels?  It just seems like something you’d do.

MP:  I would actually really like to do a graphic novel. The problem is, I
don’t know any artists who are desperate to partner with me on one (at
least not yet) and my artistic skills are not up to snuff. I AM working on
a children’s book with a very talented artist though it doesn’t quite
qualify as a graphic novel.

JP:  Anything you’d like to add?

MP:  I grew up reading everything I could lay my hands on, including comics. My
parents and grandparents always gave me a hard time about the comic books
because they weren’t real books. I’m here to tell you, they and anyone
else who says comic books (and now graphic novel) don’t count as books are
dead wrong.

Mik_final

I couldn’t agree more.  By the way, I’m still jealous of Michell’s shirt.

I had a lot more I can say, but Michell sent me his bio, and I think I can close out the article with him.   you can find him on twitter at @mplested and his website is http://www.michellplested.com.  You can also find him on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/michell.plested.   I want to thank Michell for his time, and now, his bio to close things out.

 

Michell (Mike) Plested is an author, editor, blogger, closet superhero (not to mention sock herder and cat wrangler), podcaster and publisher living in Calgary, Alberta, Canada.

Mike is the co-founder of Evil Alter Ego Press. An indie press focused on outstanding Young Adult fiction.

His debut novel, Mik Murdoch, Boy Superhero was shortlisted for the Prix Aurora Award for Best YA Novel and its sequel, Mik Murdoch: The Power Within was launched at When Words Collide 2014. He has since released, Scouts of the Apocalypse: Zombie Plague (2015) and the co-written novel, Jack Kane & the Statue of Liberty (2015).

The podcast link is right below.  Enjoy.

http://jpantalleresco.podomatic.com/entry/2016-06-11T13_26_33-07_00