Tags

, , ,

So to write this, i got to say I’ve been dreading this day for a little while.  I’ve had these characters in my head for years.   I knew as big as this monster has been, that I was getting close to the very end.

Today was the last day.

It started at 6am.   I’ve never had this happen before.   I was super tired the night before for some reason.  I fell asleep early.  And then I got this urge to wake up.  I had this thought and plot twist and I had to get up to write it down.  Six o clock in the morning.  I wrote for four hours straight, churning out chapters and just going.  I’ve never felt this urge like this before.  It was so great.

I paused because I knew the next scene was going to be brutal.  Something terrible had to happen.  I didn’t want to do it.  I nearly cried.  That said, the story had to be told, as I was so close to the end.   So around 3 o clock today, I did it.  I went to the last part of the story.

I got to say that I never expected the story to go the direction it did.  Even at the end, I never thought it would go that way.  I thought that (SPOILER) would happen.  It didn’t.  The story took on a mind of its own.

Twice in the last two hours I nearly broke down.  It was over.  I only had a little bit more to go.  It was/is bittersweet.

I still got editing to do, and a lot of work in front of me.   But the writing is done.   Today is the last day I write a new word for the Watcher universe.  This series is over.  At least for the time being.  I’m happy with where all my characters ended up.  I even sneaked in a way to continue the story down the road, should I choose.

But if I never go back, I’m content.  I wrote the story I set out to do.  And I did it in a way that’s unique.

So many thank yous here.  In no particular order:  Jimmie Robinson, Dirk Manning, GW Renshaw, Makenzie Fisk, Vanessa Cardui, Sarah Johnston,  Christine Steendam, Andrew Lorenz, my gamer group Cory McConnachie, Jared Zess, Robert Macdonald, Erik Sorensen, JR Stewart, others like Caleigh Cassidy, James Julin, Gisel Barre, Lance Buan, and many more.

Finally, I want to thank my collaborators Kristen Denbow and Florence Chan.  You made my world better.  Finally, my publisher, Mirror World, for giving my quirky series a shot, and letting me tell the tell.  This may feel like an acknowledgment page, and it kind of is.

But it’s not everyday you finish your first series.

So thanks all.   I am now breaking down and calling it.   So happy/bittersweet/emotional.  Just…wow.