Tags

, , , , , , ,

Sometimes, life just surprises you in the best of ways.  It’s how I got the chance to interview Kasey Pierce.

Kasey Pierce is one such surprise.  Dirk Manning mentioned her on his facebook exclusive page, and I was intrigued with the concept Kasey brought to the equation.  Since the American dollar makes my meager Canadian one feel like a joke, I couldn`t support Norah, which was too bad because it seems like an amazing book.

Norah is one of the most intriguing premises I have ever read for a comic.  Period.  Norah is a coma-fisher; someone that helps other comatose patients cross over to the other side, or revives them.  I`ve always been fascinated with near death and comatose people.  Science Fiction books by writers such as Connie Willis.  That said, this book feels like a very fresh take.  Why does Norah do what she does?

Intrigued, I wanted to get a chance to interview Kasey for the Podcast.  Obviously, that has happened as I did do the interview, but I got my second real surprise.  Not only does Kasey come across as an amazing writer, but she’s someone that responds to challenges.

She’s overcome obesity.  Me and her spent about a half hour talking about diets.  She’s a massage therapist by day, and writer by night.  She’s done some real cool work with her collection Pieces of Madness and manages to surprise me with what she is doing and what she is capable of.  She is the kind of person I want to feature on my podcast, and it was a real thrill to have her.

Here’s a brief taste of Kasey with this short interview here:

 

Kasey Pierce

Joshua Pantalleresco:  What are you working on right now?

Kasey Pierce:   Right now I’m working on getting all of the flash fiction rewards out from the “Norah #1…” Kickstarter. I have a scifi graphic novel called “Mexica” being released late this year. Think Aztec history meets Conan the Barbarian.

JP:  So we talked about a little about your prose and comic writing preferences in the podcast.  I want to go deeper on the prose side.  Do you prefer short stories or do you prefer working on longer works in prose?
KP:  It depends on my mood. I can’t say that I prefer one over the other.
JP: What has collaborating in comics taught you about storytelling?
KP:  It increased my awareness of how my work is perceived in the minds of those painting it. So I would say it taught me a lot about the importance of communication in storytelling.
JP: Anything else you’d like to add?
KP: It was a pleasure to have been on your show!
Norah
Actually Kasey, it is I who should be thanking you.
Norah is a successful kickstarter project and will soon be released to Kickstarter backers and can be found for sale via Kasey herself.  You can contact Kasey at http://www.kosmickasey.com.   Her twitter handle is @kosmickasey and her instagram handle is @kcdwrites.  Her short collection, Pieces of Madness is available at Amazon through this location:  http://www.amazon.com/Pieces-Madness-Kasey-Pierce/dp/1508703191/ .   I encourage you all to pick it up if you have the chance.
I want to thank Kasey once again for her time and effort, and for being just one of the best people I’ve met so far this year.  I hope I get a chance to interview her again.
Here’s the link to the podcast.  Give it a listen here:  http://jpantalleresco.podomatic.com/entry/2016-04-01T22_25_55-07_00