Tags

, , , , , ,

I want to take a quick moment to apologize for the delay in posting this.  In truth, I’m a huge fan of Chuck Miller the person, but I’ve been preoccupied on the two books I’ve been working on. Here’s making it up, as this week I’m doing a bunch of interviews on the site.

First off, Chuck Miller is awesome.  He has a dry wit, and is one of those writers who should have more notoriety than he has.  He created the amazing Black Centipede Universe and has done a great job with working with Characters like Sherlock Holmes, Chuck’s books are engaging, well thought of books.  He recently appeared on the podcast, and was kind enough to answer some questions here.

10362378_10152163324241984_1008683165349468402_n

Joshua Pantalleresco:  What are you working on?

Chuck Miller:  I’ve just finished up the next Vionna Valis & Mary Jane Kelly novel, “Into the Void,” and am getting ready to finish up the second Bay Phantom novel for Airship 27. After that, I’ll be getting into the fourth Black Centipede installment, “Centipede ‘63.”

Also, there is an audiobook version of Creeping Dawn” in the works, though I’m not directly involved in that.

JP:  Very cool! You are one of the big universe builders, as all your stories are interconnected. What has been the biggest surprise or thing you’ve learned as your keep telling stories in your world?

CM:  I think my Black Centipede universe is both big and small at the same time. Big in the sense that it deals with a long history that incorporates a lot of major historical events; and small in the sense that there is a core group of characters who move through this history, either by being nearly immortal or in the form of descendants of the original characters. What I’ve learned is how much fun it is to tie together historical figures and events that have nothing to do with one another in “real” history.

JP:  You’ve also had the privilege of working with some iconic characters. Is there a pulp character you’d like to work on?

CM:  I’d like to do something with the Shadow, simply because he was an early favorite of mine. But I have to admit that I don’t have any particularly good or even interesting ideas as far as a story goes.

JP:  Anything you’d like to add?

CM:  I’d like to encourage everyone to check out my Kolchak: The Night Stalker double novel from Moonstone, which is out this week.

http://moonstonebooks.com/shop/item.aspx?itemid=1167

6c6391f7996faaaea285071e0b2fcca87328e798

Thanks Chuck!

To take a look at Kolchak, you can check out the new book here:  http://www.amazon.com/Chuck-Miller/e/B005WX2CKQ/.  Chuck has a blog you can check out at http://theblackcentipede.blogspot.com.  Follow him there for regular updates there.  Chuck can also be found on Twitter at @drsivana99.  I want to thank Chuck for his time, and the podcast is below.  Take a listen and check out his books

The podcast is here:  http://jpantalleresco.phttp://jpantalleresco.podomatic.com/entry/2016-03-18T15_16_16-07_00