Tags

 

What can I accomplish in four days?

I asked myself a question tonight finishing the day job for the week.  I have a long weekend, and while I do plan on relaxing for a bit, I can’t help but think about this as an opportunity.

I think about my time all the time.  I would argue to anyone that their time is their real currency.  We all only have a finite amount of it and all we can do is spend it.  We cannot recoup what we lose and there is no way to save it – in fact, we have less and less of it by the second.  Typing this has already depleted me of minutes I  will never get back.

Your time is your money.

Now I am not typing this just to remind you of your mortality.  In fact, what I am saying is that each moment we have is an opportunity.  One we cannot afford to pass by.

I have several choices this weekend.  I could rest.  I will rest at some points because I need to and should.  I could play video games.

Or I can set goals.   I have a variety of goals for the weekend.  Some of them are related to the podcast.  I have four interviews – three of them tomorrow – for the podcast.  One of them may be a written interview.   But in any case I am talking with a lot of amazing people.  That is my Thursday.

Friday is a writing day.  Going to head to a coffee shop on Friday and working on some fiction.  I have some priorities.  Also, Jayne Barnard is the guest this week.  Check it out at http://jpanralleresco.podomatic.com.

Saturday I am hoping to work on another podcast interview and work on something else.  Sunday is going to be just a writing day.

I don’t have a set word count but I am hoping for dedication and some kind of success.  This is my goal.  This is feasible and workable and I can’t wait to begin.

Your time is valuable.  Don’t waste it.  The team are plenty of things out there designed to amuse you, and distract you.  I am here to tell you right now that is your biggest enemy.  Distractions are going to interject themselves in your lives from time to time.  Some you can’t avoid, but some you can.  Take one of those precious minutes you have and just stop and breathe.

What’s important to you?  Remember that.  For your time is valuable.

Now, just what can I do in four days?