Tags

, , , , ,

I’m a little behind, but finally I release this blog about Collette Turner.

As I said in the podcast, I am surprised I am the first person to do an online interview with Collette, as her talent is quite obvious.   As of this writing, she is currently working on four comic book projects.  I expect them all to be awesome.

I had the pleasure of meeting Collette at the Edmonton Expo two years ago.  We spent the weekend talking Invader Zim and I got to watch Collette wow the crowd with her work.  I own two of her prints.  One of them, an Invader Zim print.   We’ve been talking for years to work together on something.   It will happen…someday.

In the meantime  I had her on my podcast last week, and it was a real pleasure.

PSCs1

Joshua Pantalleresco:  What are you working on right now?

Collette Turner:  Aside from a steady stream of private commission work I’m now attached to a total of four comic book titles. I can’t really talk about most of them at this point in time, although I am SUPER looking forwards to being able to share info later on! One of the comics is a pet project I started working on with my husband John over a year ago. He’s a writer, and we wanted to get a feel for making comics, what the process is like and so forth. It’s been a massive learning experience so far and I’m really excited to see where it goes in the future. Additionally, I’m doing some official sketch card work for Perna Studios on their Spellcasters 2 set, working on merchandise design for Max Venom, and a blank comic cover for the Veteran Tickets Foundation.

JP:  What is the biggest storytelling lesson you have learned working on comics?

CT:  Not to be too rigid and precise about everything. That way, you get some awesome dynamic and loose lines, and everything starts to look way way better. Which is important, when comics involve a lot of action and movement compared to, say, a pin up.

JP:   Who would you like to work with doing comics?  Anyone on your dream list or are you happy with your collaborators so far?

CT:  I don’t really have a dream list. Except for Tim Burton maybe, I think if he asked me to work on a project together I would die of happy. I’ve done some collaborations in the past and there have been some truly amazing ones, as well as those which were considerably less amazing. Sadly I’m kind of at the point where I don’t have the time for collaborations ‘for fun’ anymore, but on the flip side I’m lucky enough to get the opportunity to create art and comics with some super great people through client work. Right now I guess I am almost exclusively working with writers, and that’s been pretty awesome so far (and hopefully one day I can do some work with this dude called Joshua…) As far as art goes I have some planned pieces coming up in collaboration with inkers Nicki Andrews and Jeff Graham, amongst others. I have to give a shout out to J Skipper as well, who has been the colourist for a lot of my work up ’til now.

JP:  Anything you’d like to add?

CT:  Coffee drinks and Kit Kat Crunchies are my work fuel.

photo 1 (2)

Thanks Collette!

(Note to self:  Must have Kit Kat Crunchies in Collette’s vicinity.)

Collette has a facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/ArtOfColletteTurner.   You can see her works in progress here.  Trust me, it is worth the visit just to see her commissions.  She also has an instagram page at @colletteturnerart.   Sometimes, you can find her on her twitter at @ColletteCTurner.  Her Tumblr is located at http://www.aberrantkitty.tumblr.com and her deviant art page is at http://colletteturner.deviantart.com,   I want to thank Collette for being such an awesome guest on my podcast.

Her episode is here:  http://jpantalleresco.podomatic.com/entry/2016-02-12T15_13_31-08_00