Tags

, , ,

In my opinion, Saima K. Sophia is a real life superhero.  Sure, she doesn’t wear a cape or wear spandex that blinds people on site – rather she has made it part of her life mission to help out people.  Her day job involves work at Plan – a charity who looks after rights of girls worldwide.

Beyond that, It had been a while since I’ve talked to Saima, and thought she’d make a great guest on the Podcast.  So since I have a great interview, I thought I’d ask Saima some questions here:

Saima

Joshua Pantalleresco: What are you working on now?

Saima K. Sophia:   I’m working on my NaNoWriMo story: Nova. It’s about a bunch of unconventional young people who all have demons they’re avoiding. They go out one night and live like they’re not confined by society’s rules because they made a pact that in the morning they’re all going to face said demons. And that’s obviously very terrifying for these kids because they can’t predict what their lives will be after. I’m about half-way through this thing (I’m behind, shhh) and it’s stressful but very exciting because it’s not going in the direction I thought it would. These characters are at the point where they’ve stopped listening to me and are now taking charge, leading me into the darkest corners of their lives. I love itwhen that happens.

JP:  My only evil Joss Whedon question(I can’t help it, I’m sorry…kind of):  Do you think Joss Whedon should ever do a marvel movie again?  Why or why not?

SS:  Uh oh. I thought we agreed that evil Joss Whedon questions were not to be asked! Why you little… Anyway, Joss Whedon should most definitely not do a Marvel movie again. Guys, put down the pitchforks and hear me out. Joss did anincredible job with the Avenger films but I feel like he was limited as a writer to really explore the characters in the ways he wanted to. There’s only so much you can do with these super-famous characters who already have an extensive background history, and then there’s the problem of trying to tie all of these stories together with the movies and the TV shows. I think Joss Whedon really shines when the shackles are taken off, rules are broken, and the filter on his mind is completely removed. He has such a brilliant brain (I mean that in the non-creepiest way) and I want to see him do more original projects, like indie movies and *cough* more musicals. Maybe even a podcast! Holy shit, how awesome would that be!? He should also be my personal writing mentor (or life coach).

JP: I got to thank you for making me listen to Halsey.  Now, what other cool music are you listening to now, that you are listening to at the moment?

SS:  Dude, dude, she’s an incredible artist. When I’m in the middle of writing a book, I usually listen to my writing playlist exclusively until the book is finished. I’ve broken that rule for Nova, because it’s such a random story full of diversity and colourful, weird situations that I can put my phone on shuffle and any song that pops up will inspire a new idea for it. I have to add though, these days I’m listening to a lot of The Kills, Royal Blood, The Runaways, and AC/DC. But if you’re interesting in hearing music similar to Halsey’s then check out Kyla La Grange, Melanie Martinez, XYLO, Banks, and FKA Twigs.

JP:  Anything you’d like to add?

SS:  I’m almost completely done with Finding Elyssia, the first full-length novel I’ve written. It’s a psychological thriller about a woman’s journey to redemption and the unexpected obstacles that come with it. It has a witty-gritty tone with a badass protagonist who has a real Jessica Jones-vibe going for her. If you’re into violence and inappropriate humour then you’ll be happy to hear that I’ve started working on my query letter! Exciting (and very scary) stuff!

*********************************************************

Thanks Saima.

Check out Saima’s homepage at http://www.sksophia.com to see her own blogs, and interviews.   Saima also has a  Tumblr page right here at http://sksophia.tumblr.com.  Her twitter handle is @sk_sophia and her figment page it at figment.com/users/280170-S-K-Sophia.   Check them all out and say hi, because she is awesome.

the Podcast is here:

http://jpantalleresco.podomatic.com/entry/2015-12-04T13_34_06-08_00

A real life superhero.  True story.