Tags

, ,

I’ve reached the point where I need help.

I know that’s not saying a lot this monday morning.  I’ve accomplished a bit this year.  Opportunities have come my way that tell me deep down that I’m just not quite where I need to be…yet.

I finished a novel this year.  I was excited, ecstatic and i did what I could to make the novels as best as I could.   I did an all weekend marathon and put together a basic novel.  I was proud of it.

I was rejected.  Twice.  Both places making the same suggestions.

I want to say something here:  rejection is a common thing for writing and trying to break into traditional publishing.  If you aren’t getting rejected, you aren’t trying hard enough.   And I can say I’m not getting the standard rejections that I got when i started.  I’ve come a long way.

Just not far enough yet.

My goal next year is to have a novel good enough to be published.  I know the ideas are there, the storytelling there.  It’s just the small details now, and I’m vowing to myself right here, right now, I will get better.

I feel I should also take a quick minute to discuss my podcast.

I’m already approaching the ninth episode.  I’m still not happy with the podcast.  It’s not quite where I want to be.  I want the sappy jingle, I want songs of the week, and I still feel I’m not quite where I need to be speaking wise.

That said, I’ve had the pleasure of interviewing some awesome people so far.  I want to thank them all so far right here.  I got an interesting group of people coming on down the road.  There’s an undertaker (not to be confused with the WWE Undertaker) I want to interview, because it’s an interesting job.  I’m trying to interview rock bands, film crews, and other interesting jobs and projects down the road.  Make no mistake, this is primarily a literary podcast,  but I want to have that good variety of people that do amazing things.

The truth is, people do incredible things.  Including me.

I just want to get better.

Never be satisfied with where you are at.  Stay hungry, and try to get better each day.  There is a myriad of work I still have to do in all the disciplines I want to work at.

I’m not afraid to fail.  I’m afraid to regret.

Stay tuned, and stay inspired.  We only stop when we quit, and I’m not giving up anytime soon.