Tags

, , , , , ,

So I’m still catching up from the last couple of weeks here, so even though episode 7 of the podcast is live now, I’m focussing on Episode 6.   Ella Beaumont is kind of frightening.  Not because she is the all powerful acquisitions editor of Edge Publishing;  rather, very few people I’ve met come across as determined as she is.   She does everything with purpose, deliberation and drive.  I’ve said it to Brian Hades, and I mean it:  He is truly lucky to have her.  She makes his organization better, and does it with a smile.

She is currently running the Edge Lite program – Edge’s ebook program and is learning about it as quickly as she can.  We talk about that a lot in the podcast, but I wanted to take a moment to post the follow ups to her questions here:

Ella Beaumont

Joshua Pantalleresco:  What are you working on at the moment?

Ella Beaumont:   Editing for EDGE-Lite’s ninth release since we started releasing titles at the end of June 2015. Next week I’ll be starting on number ten!

JP:   Tell me about your writing club and if you have anything planned for NANOwrimo next month?

EB:  Write Club is a writing productivity group who meet at a local coffee shop here in Calgary for the sole purpose of writing words. We meet every Sunday evening and anyone and everyone can show up as they desire. We’re pretty low key. We run quarterly writing marathons that are usually three days long (the only time there’s a fee for entry as we rent out a big space to fill to the brim with the sound of clicking keyboards). We don’t have anything planned for November’s Nanowrimo this year because I was stuck in editorial purgatory when I should have been booking spaces. 😛

JP:  What have you learned about ebooks since our last conversation?

EB:  Hahaha. That’s funny. Rule number one: never put up a pre-order for a book that still needs editing. Rule number two, doing a substantive edit, line edit, and copy edit, all in one pass is very very hard – do no attempt unless you’re already an insomniac. Rule number three, never ignore the value of change, always try to keep things fresh. Rule number four, social media marketing is nothing without some kind of longevity. Rule number five, nothing that’s worth doing is easy, e-books are no different.

JP:  Anything you’d like to add?

EB: For the record, I could probably fill a sizable novella with arbitrary rules that I’ve stumbled across, ironically or otherwise, throughout this grand e-book publishing adventure (and yes, I do mean arbitrary as pretty much all rules are made to be broken). The scary part is I’m sure there’s more to come.

******************************************************************

I’m sure there is, and probably has been since.  I encourage everyone to check out the Edge Website right here:  http://www.edgewebsite.com to see what Ella is working on for the company.  The Edge Lite program offers a variety of amazing books and I encourage each and every one of you to check it out.

Ella does have a facebook page.  You can contact her here: https://www.facebook.com/ella.beaumont.96.  beyond that, I’m going to leave her social media alone.  She may kill me telling you about this one.  Also, check out her Write Club at http://calgarywriteclub.weebly.com/ .  It’s an awesome club.  Hopefully I’ll be doing one of their writing marathons again soon.

As for the podcast itself, you can listen to it here:  http://jpantalleresco.podomatic.com/entry/2015-10-28T23_52_18-07_00

Stay Inspired!