Tags

, , , , , ,

It’s been a busy couple of weeks.  I ended up going to two conventions on very short notice.  This isn’t going to get the attention it deserves, but it needs to go up now.  I mentioned Irish Beth Maddock in the last blog, and I am now going to mention the other guest on the show that week:  Joanne Morcum.
I met Joanne on the reception night of When Words Collide.   I felt kind of out of place being there, but to my surprise, Joanne was a lot of fun to talk to.  A very sweet lady, we talked about our poetry and did a cool exchange.
I really enjoy Joanne’s style.  She can be both humorous and dark and I just enjoy the way she looks at things.  Her poetry is amazing and if you are a poetry fan, you should check out About the Blue Moon, the same book  I did.
I briefly talked to Joanne before the podcast aired.  I apologize to her now for being so late.
About the Blue Moon
Joshua Pantalleresco:  what are you working on?
Joanne Morcom:  I’m working on my third poetry collection of haiku and / or tanka poems.  I also continue to have my poetry published in journals, both hard copy and electronic.  I recently submitted an article titled “Creative Aging Through Poetry” to the Creative Aging Society of Calgary newsletter.  And my review of Sheri-D Wilson’s poetry book Open Letter: Woman Against Violence Against Women  will appear in the Winter 2015 issue of the Advocate, the newsletter of The Alberta College of Social Workers, of which I’m a member. 
JP:  how has twitter treated you so far?
JM:  As an explorer of the Twitterverse, I enjoy making connections with amazing creative people, such as yourself! 
JP:  tell me about the poets group you are a part of.
JM:  I’m a founding member of The Magpie Haiku & Tanka Poets, who meet monthly at Fish Creek Library  to write and read haiku and tanka poetry.  We also eat, drink and make merry because talking about poetry isn’t all serious.  (Actually, it can be hilarious!)  So far we’ve published two anthologies and may tackle a third.  We’re also toying with the idea of bobbleheads.  If athletes can be bobbleheads, why can’t poets?
JP: Anything you’d like to add?
I’m one of the authors participating in the “Meet Your Local Authors” Book Fair and Sale on Saturday, October 24th, 2015 from 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. at Vivo for Healthier Generations (formerly Cardel Place) 11950 Country Village Link N.E. Calgary.  You’ll find me at my Halloween decorated table, selling autographed copies of my poetry collections and anthologies.  Pick up a copy of my scary science fiction poetry chapbook titled A Nameless Place published in spooky Cedar Rapids, Iowa!
Tahiti two
Thanks Joanne!
Joanne has a email you can contact her about her books at morcomj@telus.net.   Her twitter handle is  @joannemorcom.  I encourage people to engage her here.  Joanne is a sweet person and responds to people with frequency, and needs the practice here.  Joanne also has a website you can explore at www.joannemorcom.ca.   Check her out, buy her books and check out her Magpie and Haiku Poets society.
Thanks Joanne.