Tags

, , , , , ,

First and foremost, thank you very much everyone for making Stormdancer week a good one.  The book came out, got some nice reviews here and here, and I got to interact with a lot of friends.  It made me feel good, and hopefully, the book will sell.  The amazon link is once again right here.  Please check out the book and let me know what you think of it.

With that all out of the way, I return with Episode 3 of Just joshing.  My guest is another great writer I happened to come across while I was there in JA Mclachlan, Author of the Occasional Diamond Thief and Walls of Wind, the later of which I currently own.  She was a little nervous when we started talking, but once I got her to open up, I think our conversation became quite engaging.

I find that JA reminds me a bit of Ursula Leguin when I read here.  Walls of Wind definitely has some parables to the classic the Left Hand of Darkness, but Mclachlan brings a very unique perspective by only giving her characters one sex.   I’m still reading it as of this writing,  but I’ve enjoyed the book very much so far.  A full review will probably be posted on Amazon somewhere down the road.  Until then, let’s meet JA and chat with her a bit here.


3D Preview

Joshua Pantalleresco:  Besides answering my questions, what are you working on this moment?

JA McLachlan:  I’m currently doinr revisions to an historical fiction novel my agent is waiting for, set in the middle ages, and I’m preparing to write the sequel to The Occasional Diamond Thief in November.

JP:  Talk to me a bit more about the Occasional Diamond Thief. What is it all about?

JAM:  The Occasional Diamond Thief is the story of 16-year-old Kia’s journey to discover the origin of the mysterious diamond her father gives her just before he dies at the beginning of the book. Given the fact that it’s a priceless jewel, and he has kept it hidden, she assumes he stole it, so let me ask your readers and listeners: If you found out that someone you loved might have done something bad in their past, would you keep their secret, or would you tell?

That’s the question that faces Kia as The Occasional Diamond Thief begins.  It’s a bit of a mystery, an adventure story, a futuristic science fiction novel, and a coming-of-age story, as Kia learns not only what really happened to her father, but who she wants to be, as well.

JP:  Do you see yourself doing another self published book down the line?

JAM:  Occasional Diamond Thief isn’t self-published, as it’s published by EDGE Science Fiction and Fantasy Publishing, although I retained the e-book rights. This has been my favorite of the many types of publishing out there. I love the hands-on aspect of handling the e-book myself, but going with a professional publisher can get your print book places you could never go as a self-published author, and everyone at EDGE is a dream to work with. I wouldn’t hesitate to self-publish in future, and I expect my agent will send the historical novel down a very traditional route when I turn the final draft in to her, but I prefer the hybrid model I have with EDGE.

Jane Ann professional photo

Thanks JA!

JA has her website located at http://www.janeannmclachlan.com.   There you can read about The Occasional Diamond Thief and other works of hers.  Her Facebook Page is located at https://www.facebook.com/AthorJaneAnnMcLachlan.   Her twitter handle is @janeanmclachlan.  Feel free to say hello to her.  I want to thank JA McLachlan for her time and her willingness to put up with me at When Words Collide.

The podcast link is right here:  http://jpantalleresco.podomatic.com/entry/2015-10-09T21_34_46-07_00  .  Click and give it a listen.  See you next week.