Tags

, , ,

A lot to mention in this blog.  So much to talk about that It’s going to be broken up into two parts.   Let’s begin by saying my podcast will be up tomorrow.  I am literally a theme song away from posting episode one.  I am proud of myself.  I built an episode completely in Audacity.

It was kind of surreal to openly talk to yourself.  Anyone that knows me knows that I talk to myself on a regular basis.  You think I would be comfortable in silence.  The truth is you are very conscious of what you project when you talk with deliberation.  The ums and ahs are very jarring to listen to.  I know there are still a few in the first episode.  But this take at least was me at my most comfortable.

So what is Just Joshing about? It’s about my journey to be a full time writer.   Along the way, I meet and talk to a variety of amazing people who are pursuing or achieved their dreams.  My first guest is Scott Burtness.   It’s a fun conversation playing back that I realized I still have a lot to learn about public speaking.  The beautiful thing about doing things like this is that you learn.  And I have. Episode two will air next Tuesday and it’s the Stormdancer special.  I can’t wait and hopefully nor can you.

My first appearance promoting Stormdancer is Sunday Oct.  4th.  Arnold Henry is launching his book that day and I have been invited to attend.  I will give out details on my twitter.   Hopefully my books will have arrived.

In light of the impending storm coming, I thought I would take the time to talk one last time about the Watcher.

PantallerescoJ-cover-FINAL-websize

After all this time this cover still impresses me.  The Watcher will always to me, be the first serious book I did in my writing career.  Let’s be clear; it’s not my first book.  But it’s the one that feels professional to me, if that makes sense.

The Watcher is the first thing I wrote that I trusted my gut completely from start to finish.  Art is expression.  Sharing any kind of work takes guts – even if it’s just to another dingle solitary soul.  But it is very easy to hide in your writing by being cerebral.   Shifting the focus to your ideas and concepts instead of what is in the heart is very easy for a writer to do.

The Watcher ripped open pieces of my heart for all to see.  It demanded nothing less.  It took some of my own feelings about working for a living for someone and land them bare, among many other things.

I can say that there is a part of me there.  It beats.  I learned with the Watcher how to let out all of the parts of me needed to tell the tale.  I am thankful to the Watcher for that, and all the doors that book opened.

I believe that everything you do opens doors.  They may not be apparent at the moment but I think that the world reacts to your actions.  Sometimes in ways you never expect.

I now wonder what opportunities Stormdancer will bring me.  Like I said before, the chances given are not always visible.  People do take notice however of the things you attempt.

Doing things and going out on a limb are rewarded in life: sometimes and most especially, when you don’t succeed.

I am proud, and have only just begun.  Check out Mirror World’s website to order the Watcher and Stormdancer both.  It’s worth it.

Tomorrow I take the plunge into podcasting.  Check back here and see what happens next.