Tags

, , , , ,

So if you are reading this, you’ll note a couple of things.  For one, my next book is out.  For another, the address of the blog has changed.  Soon the name will too.  I’m working on making this blog a little more towards what I always envisioned when I did interviews.

I’m talking about a podcast.  As you’ve noticed reading this blog, my interviews have become more complex and intricate.  I like to think I’ve gotten a lot better exposing people to the real human beings that I talk to here.  There are a quite a few interviews I’m proud of.  Simon Rose, Liana K, Justine Dowsett are among some of my favorites.

But, the thing is, this little tricorder I call a phone can record full conversations and for the last two weeks I’ve been doing just that.   Some of biggest, most interesting people I could talk to two for about twenty minutes or so are recorded.  Next week I’ll be putting some of them together and start preparing for broadcasting.

That doesn’t mean that I won’t be doing written interviews from time to time.  I loved the School of Bitches interview – the interactions a whole comic book creative team make when they come together are awesome.  I will still do those kinds of interviews from time to time.

But I enjoy conversations.  They are far more interesting than the question and answer periods I’ve been through in the very beginning.  I still think there are places for that kind of talk, but I rather deal with real people.  They are far more interesting, because I think people have great stories to tell.

Now, will it be a little like this blog in terms of who I talk to?  It will be writers, some publishers, and a few other related stuff like graphic novelists.  That said, I will hit some of the less connected mediums as well.   Illustrators for example.  And yes folks, that means at some point I will be talking to Florence Chan about how she killed it on Stormdancer.  I will also be talking to musicians, and hopefully things like professional wrestlers as well.

Like I said above, it’s not the genre, but the people that are interesting.  We are all once in a lifetime, and I am fortunate some of them will talk about their stories here.

I am hoping for the first podcast to be out by the end of the month.  Scott Burtness is my first guest, and we have quite a doozy of a conversation.  See why Wisconsin Vampire is nine kinds of awesome, and that Scott is an awesome and amazing guy.

The address change is reminicent to the part that really, this isn’t a fiction for me anymore.

I am becoming slowly more and more recognized.  Randy McCharles reviewed my book for Amazon.  He didn’t have to; he certainly has better things to do.  But I’m being recognized as other professionals as a professional.  That means I have to start acting a little more like it.

Michael Through Time though is still special to me.  I’m writing the adventures when I have spare time at Wattpad.  @jpantalleresco coincidentally is my handle there.

So, to continue the Stormdancer build, I want to talk about my acknowledgements page.  This year I did something special here.  I didn’t just acknowledge the people who played a part in making my book happen – I acknowledged a lot of people at my day job.

It’s a bit of a dirty secret to say that most writers have day jobs.  I’m not any different at this point yet, but I usually don’t talk about it.  To me, the day job is just work.  That said, I have a lot to be thankful for.

The job paid for my bills and made my life possible to live.  I have had the good fortune to meet and work with some amazing people in their own right.  So in this page, I thank a handful of them.  I look forward to the day I don’t have to work at a day job anymore, but I am grateful with the people I work with and help me get there.

So thank you.  My thanks in my book is a small appreciation to you.

But it wasn’t to just current employees, but also past ones as well.  I know I didn’t get all of you, but I think I got most of the important ones.  To the rest, it’s on me.

Thank you all.

Finally, in anticipation to Stormdancer arriving on October 1st, I once again encourage people to check out my first book, The Watcher right here.   Even though you don’t need the Watcher to enjoy Stormdancer, I think the book is still amazing.  There is more.  There is always more.

Alright, deadlines await.  See you in a week in which I talk about how to write a sequel, and what I learned about it.  Until then, stay inspired.

Cover-6by9mockup-r1