Tags

, ,

No, I’m not writing this to talk about Stormdancer just yet.  In truth, I’ve been a little behind on some  things.   Two thursdays ago, at the end of my shift of my day job, I was fired.  I’m not going to go into the details of it.   A company policy bit me in the ass, and while the circumstances were odd, it was their policy and I was terminated thursday evening.  I was kind of stunned but I was calm.  I’ve been looking for a place for the last month, and while I’ve come close on more than one occasion, things kept happening.  Losing my job, seemed to just be another part of it.

I put some thought into things friday, and after going on a date, had a talk with where I’m staying.  I made a decision there and then, to take care of the things that I needed to take care of, and in the process help the people out where I’m staying.  The moment I did that, everything changed.

Monday morning arrived and I not only had my job back, but I had another in the wings.  I wasn’t going to lose the job I had worked so hard to carve the niche I had made for myself there.  That said, I wasn’t going to say no to a week’s worth of work, so I took it.  I learned how to use a jackhammer.  To anyone that knew me eight years ago, don’t worry;  I did better with that that than I did with  a weedwhacker.

I went back to my day job two days ago like nothing happened.  It’s a strange thing.  Not once in this whole process was I mad, or angry, or despaired or begged or pleaded.  In essence, in this whole process I did nothing to fight.  Instead, I simply asked for my job back through my union.   In short, I got it.

I’m grateful for it.   I’m not going to say that I would have liked to look for another job this instant.   That said, this time off made me realize that I would have been fine even if they hadn’t given me my job back.  To me, all work is the same.  You show up, do your task and work at it.  Repeat.  People that work physical jobs see the results of their hard work the easiest.  Concrete gets destroyed, buildings get built, and mail gets delivered.  You can see the results of your diligence or lack thereof immediately.

A few years ago, this chain of events would have rattled me.  Today, I walked through it.  Not because I was special, but rather just because I felt confident that I would be fine no matter what.   I was still going to do the things I set out to do.  I had promises to keep to very important people in my life, and I was not going to let anything stop me.

I bet on me.

And like I said, today I could be writing about my unemployment just as easily.  I could have been pounding the pavement looking for something to pay the bills.  I could have filed for unemployment.  But no matter what I would have done, I would have kept going, and I would have been fine doing it.    I believe that.

That said, I am thankful.  So to my day job, and the people that worked to get my job back, thank you.

Everything is motion.  All one can do sometimes is don’t resist the tide and try to ride the wave.  That’s what I did.

Anyway, your regularly scheduled programming resumes next week.  In the meantime, check out @florenceachan work on Stormdancer.  Those images are awesome.  I will be at geekmoot yyc this weekend at the Hillhurst Community center.  Come say hello, and play smash up or magic with me and many others.  I hope to have some cool announcements up in the next few weeks.

Until then, stay inspired and bet on yourself.  You are worth it.