Tags

, , , , ,

So this is Part one of a two part crossover.  I arranged to interview Sharon to do a multi blog epic interview where we each take turns interviewing the other.  My life became a touch insane so this has taken longer to start with than anticipated.  That said, upon conversation I discovered something very important.

Sharon is a really nice lady.

I know.  Huge revelation right here in this blog.   I know I really shouldn’t be saying this.  Sharon has already vowed revenge on me for making her come out as a unicorn, and me saying this will ruin that diabolical reputation, but it had to be stated before you continue here.  She is charming, and sweet and one of the nicest people you will come across.

Her books are nearly as awesome as she is.   Her book, The Last Timekeepers and the Arch of Atlantis will soon make its debut with Mirror World books and it’s fantastic.  You really should read it.   Now this time, there are only 5 questions, and 5 answers with Sharon.  At some point down the road, i hope to have a full conversation with her.  In the meantime, here are the five questions.

tltkataoa-200

Joshua Pantalleresco:  What are you working on right now?

Sharon Ledwith:  Right now, at this minute, Joshua? Um…answering your questions. Wink.

JP:  What are you working on specifically?

SL:  Ah, there it is—the money question! Well, I’ve just finished the edits for The Last Timekeepers and the Arch of Atlantis, which is book one in my middle grade/young adult time travel series. The novel is being re-released world-wide through Mirror World Publishing on June 17th, 2015. I’m also just finishing up with edits and changes for my paranormal romance/suspense book Moontouched, to submit to my agents at Walden House (Books & Stuff) within the week. Once done, I’m back in the writing saddle to work on the second book in The Last Timekeepers series.

JP:  What influenced you?

SL:  To write? Hmm…actually I never thought I could write until I heard this strong, vibrant voice behind me blurt out that I could write. Yeah, I know. Freaky, supernatural stuff. But it’s the honest truth. So I went with this truth that I could actually write a book, and wrote a book! Granted it took me two years to write it. And during that time, I took a few courses on how to plan a novel in night school, and worked at my craft consistently. I read self-help books on writing too. Lots of them. So I guess to answer your question is that my environment influenced me. Listening to my intuition. Watching people and how they acted. Hearing how people talked to each other. What the world around me smelled like, and tasted like. Reading a lot of fiction in the genres I enjoyed the most, and seeing how the authors created their stories helped tremendously too. Success leaves clues, after all.

JP:  What are you most proud of accomplishing?

SL:  That’s a tough question to ask, Joshua. There are a ton of things I’m ‘most’ proud of! But if you’re talking career-wise (writing) then I’ll have to go with conquering my fears. At first, when I heard that powerful voice who told me that I could write, I immediately put up road blocks. My reasoning was that only those people with a master’s degree in English or MFA holders or teachers were suitable for the writing profession. Not me. I didn’t even get great grades in English. Then, I thought, screw it! Let’s see where writing takes me, and I pushed past the fear. And today, I’m glad I made that decision to let the fear fall away. By the way—that first book that I wrote was Moontouched, and has been finally contracted by my agents this year. See how things work out when you face your fears?

JP:  What is your favorite thing about the changing face of publishing?

SL:  That the gatekeepers between authors and readers have all but dissolved. Think about it. Before the digital age, publishers handled the relationship between the authors and their readers. Book signings (or school visits and conventions) were really the only way of connection that a reader could meet and greet with their favorite author. Now there’s the social media with Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Goodreads, and a multitude of other social sites where readers can connect with authors. This is something I never imagined when I started writing back in 1996!

Sharon Ledwith #1 Headshot

Thanks Sharon!

Look for my answers to these questions soon.  In the meantime, you must check out Sharon’s work.  Her book, the Last Timekeepers and the Arch of Atlantis debuts this wednesday.  Pick it up because it’s amazing.   There’s a webpage about located on facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Last-Timekeepers-Time-Travel-Series/373953795955372 .  Sharon herself is on facebook here:  https://www.facebook.com/seledwith.

Her twitter handle is @sharonledwith and her webpage is http://www.sharonledwith.com.   I look forward to reading more of her work in the future.  Check her out if you are a kid or a kid at heart.  I want to thank Sharon for her time and me letting out her big secret.