Tags

,

I’m an eccentric cat, even for a writer. Most people see me as harmless, but every once in a while my quirks scare people. I really don’t understand why. The only thing that makes sense about that to me is because it’s different from the norm.

The quirk? Talking to myself. I do it when I write stuff. It’s a way of proofreading. If it sounds terrible as i say it, i know it will read terribly on the page.

But I do it when I am not writing off and on as well. For me it vents stress, lets me get thoughts out, and I find ideas i hadn’t considered. I know i live in my head a lot and i am sure at times it seems strange. That said there are benefits http://www.talkingtoyourself.com/benefits.htm . I know it comes off as strange. Like I said it’s different.

But it’s also harmless. People do all kinds of things left to their own devices. On the bus, everyday there is this Philipino woman who sings the same little tune fay in and out, quietly to herself. It’s always her and the song.

I’ve seen people đance, belch out a tune listening to their ipod, and others like me who let their thoughts come out. We all have our quirks.

So why does this bother people? Why is so terrifying for some to see those quirks?

We’re all different. We don’t think, feel, act or express ourselves the same way. Why have those intolerances to things people do that are different or more uncommon?

Why do people today still let their fear of what is outside the norm control their thinking? It’s something that I expected in elementary school, not at a job. It just makes me sad that this is creepy to some.

We all are a little different then anybody else. Why pretend otherwise? Live and let live.