Tags

, ,

So yeah, you know, the writing thing…

Here’s some financial realities for me in the next few months.  I have to move.  I’m okay with this.  I’ve been needing to move for a long time.  Calgary up until this point, has been a touch difficult to find an apartment in.  I’ve dealt with crazy dancing old men advertising (Shall we say?) Hovels as gold mines.  I’ve seen holes in the ground, and possibly a dimensional breach inside of reality as places Calgary landlords and landladies in the past has considered great places to live.  I’m looking at some of the places now that may or may not be feasible.  In any case, I may find something that will suit me.  As is, it’s a touch more realistic, but we’ll see.  I’m unconcerned by and large.  I’ve moved so many times I’ve probably forgotten more than most people will ever think about with moving.

The lay offs in Calgary are starting to impact me.  Not because I’m getting laid off.  My hours were cut and the work that was plentiful…not so much.  People are going to get laid off.  It’s a matter of time and some of those things are already starting to happen on other shifts.

I’ve already taken action there.  I could have taken a full time shift somewhere.  I have the senority.  But I don’t WANT to.  That’s not the point.  The whole goal is to turn my writing into a financially rewarding career along with the joy I get making characters up.   Why fall back when things get difficult?

I have a book coming out in the summer.  I’m still working on other projects and am doing my best to make sure that I continue doing some content.  I have people interested in what I’m writing.   The money…not so much there yet.

But I have promises to keep.  I have worked for people in the past that have promised me something and have failed to deliver.  I hate not keeping my promises.  It’s something that drives me nuts.

So how do I keep my promises?

A throwaway part time job in the immediate future seems like the right call.  I need a little extra income (for now).  Like I said, I got solutions to this problem a bit down the line.

Some people may see this as a step backwards.  I see it as a step to go forward.  I’m working on my own deadlines and my own promises and I’m willing and able to be able to work towards making some things work.  I think this is just part of the process, yet I’m reluctant to do so.   I enjoy the time I have to create stuff.  I love it.   I do great interviews and next week I’m going to debut the novel on wattpad.  I’m continuing to write the wrestling column for Wrestling Glory Days, and I’m continuing to work on interviews.  In two weeks, my next interview goes up with someone who should have been here years ago.

Sometimes the financial reality sucks, but like all things, this too will pass.

Tough times last, tough people do.