Tags

, , , , ,

So I’ve done more and less than I planned to so far this year.

First things first, I started a Wrestling column on the Wrestling Glory Days webpage on facebook.   You can read it here.   My first column focused on the Jake the Snake/Rick Rude rivalry and the Vader/Cactus Jack feud.  Wrestling may be theatre, but it’s also athleticism and it’s an art form in itself.  It may not be for everyone, but if you like to see how stories work in wrestling, check it out.

There are signs of life on the Paradigm front.  Twyla April has illustrated up to page 19.  I’m looking at the pages and liking what I am seeing.  Issue two should begin hopefully around mid spring or summer.  I think from here we’ll do it in seasons.  Twyla has only so much time, but we are getting there, bit by bit.

I’ve completed my first two interviews this year.  There are three on tap to come.  I also secured an interview for 2016 that is going to be awesome.  But yeah, that’s a year away, and I admit that anything can happen.  That said, it’s someone that I’ve wanted to interview for a long time.

The video is filmed.  I recorded my audio track for the film.  I just have to put it together.  The reason why it isn’t out there will be revealed shortly.

Finally, I’ve handed in book two of the sequel to the Watcher.  I am signing the  contract right now for it.  It should be out in June.  Florence Chan is illustrating it again, and I am thrilled at that.

Those are the positives, but there are some things that are negative.

The video isn’t filmed because my video software no longer works.  I am currently too broke to get myself a replacement.  This thursday that will change, and then I’ll FINALLY do it.  I’m tired of that albatross on my back.  That said, it’s been a growing process.

I also got my first rejection letter.  It’s part of the game.   I’ll keep writing and doing things.  It’s what I do.

Now, let’s talk about my interviews.  If you haven’t noticed, there’s been an evolution in how I conduct them.  First off, I want to thank the people I’ve interviewed.  Each and every one of them has made the interview better.  My memory is sometimes shoddy, and it’s been good have them fill in the blanks.

I just realized that questions were boring.  I read interviews with comic creators at newsarama, and something rankled with me.  Now, before I continue, Newsarama is an outstanding site that knows who they are and what they do.  Intimate, long drawn interviews are not what they are trying to do.

I wish they did though.  People are interesting when you really get to talk to them.   I decided that questions for the sake of promotion seemed unreal.   We’re all selling something, but at the end of the day, no one wants to feel like they are being sold to.    People rather know that people are genuine and real on some level.   I find this when I do conventions that people like to be talked to.  They want to know that it is people that they are dealing with.

Ever since talking to Simon Rose last year, I tried to do something different.  It was the way we clicked when we started talking.  The conversation was much more interesting than asking any kind of query about the book.

I think this influence with me came from watching Tom Snyder in the Late, Late show.   I loved those conversations as a kid when he was talking to Dave Thomas, Dick Clark and a plethora of others.  The conversations often veered away from the norm and it was great to get into the head of the person being interviewed.

So from here on in, these are the kinds of interviews I want to do.   There will still be questions in them, but they will hopefully be more organic, and not quite so sales orientated.

Next week we will have the next interview.   Stay tuned for more cool things coming.

One last thought:  A newsletter?