Tags

, , ,

So there’s no interview this week.  I’m in this wonderful place all writers want to be – a ton of projects to do and not a whole lot of time to do them.

I made it a promise to myself that I’d have more volume out this year.  I’m not sure I’m going to succeed on that goal of things released this year, but so far I have two hard deadlines and I’m slowly going crazy.

My sequel is going to be done on my end in rough form at least by February 5th.  You may think that’s a lot of time but it really isn’t.   Especially since my OTHER deadline is february 3rd.  It’s a short story for an anthology.  I haven’t started it yet.  I mean, I have started it but I haven’t written anything down.

I also finished filming and am in the video editing process.   Most of the principal filming is already done.  I got to make my debut as a director and I’ve hinted at the idea of what I’m doing on twitter here and there.  I feel like the whole thing is going to feel like a b movie.  I didn’t have the budget to do certain things, and this one scene is going to make people die laughing.  That said, I learned a lot and hopefully the next one will be better.

For example, did you know that there are many kinds of fake blood?  Not something I expected going into the costume shop this weekend.  There is thick blood, thin blood, blood from pus, and a cornucopia of others.  It felt like choosing paint from a paint store.   I never ever would have expected to do this.

As to what I filmed?  I almost want to be a tease about it but I’ve been already teasing on twitter and facebook.  About a month and a half ago I was contacted by Anne Vasquez.  Anne is an author and has a sight called http://www.fictionfrenzy.tv in which she promotes other books.  She asked me to do a two minute video of the Watcher as a book trailer.

The thing is, i’ve always wanted to direct.  I’ve been film crew for a couple of films, but never behind the camera in any important capacity.  Since The Watcher is poetry, I was thinking about the concept of music videos.  Music videos are quick, and can tell a great story.  I took one of the poems in the Watcher called “First Night” and put it in the modern era.  The nights have been cold, but I’ve been blessed to have support of good people in doing this.  Hopefully everyone will see it in the next two weeks.   I want to take a moment to thank everyone who played a part in it, big or small.

I think I’ll show you a small preview for later this month:  the watcher-wanted poster (1)

Florence Chan did this, and you’re going to see her again real soon.  It’s going to be great working with her again.  And I hope I have your attention in the days and weeks to come.

It’s now time to go back to the deadline grind.