Tags

, , , , ,

I’m going to try and avoid the reflective bit this year.  It’s been a while since I had a new blog and I wanted to talk a little bit about the reasons why.  One of them is that this month the day job was extra busy and I took the opportunity to do some things with it.  This month I did not have the time to conduct any interviews, nor did I really get the chance to write some new material.  The later of this is being corrected right now as I type this.  I am currently working on my next book to be released this coming year.   I am genuinely excited about the opportunities that have already come my way so far at the end of the year and I am going to take advantage of.

Yesterday I spent my evening freezing in the cold shooting a little video that will be making its debut real soon.  I’ve said in the past that I’ve wanted to do some more work with video and I’m taking a shot at the director’s chair right now.  The big part of this video was filmed last night, and I want to take the opportunity to thank Miranda Tubman and JR Stewart of Dorkable Productions (or @DorkableFun if you want to follow them on twitter.)  As well as Erik Sorenson and Ray McLellan for their time and energy yesterday.  You will see the result soon enough.

But let’s look backwards for just a second.  I did this, this year:PantallerescoJ-cover-FINAL-websize

To me, the idea that I’d end the year with a book, which is available any website you wish to order it from – that I have been blessed to go across the country to do signings and conventions about this is damn cool.

But that’s not all:

cover copy

I was able to do my first ever webcomic.  Paradigm appears at http://paradigmcomic.wordpress.com.  It’s been a fun project.  I honestly had no expectations when I started this.  I did it, to have fun, and I think reading it you can say we did.  Feel free to check it out. I accomplished this with both Twyla April and James Reddington and I want to take this opportunity to thank them very much.   James is a consummate professional and truly deserves more recognition.   I have never ever understood why letterers and smaller pieces of comic book creative teams are given as little credit as they are, but without his work this book would not exist today and I thank him.

And as for Twyla – she has been a blast.  It has been a pleasure to be on the road with her and Jon Morrell, her significant other this year across the western frontiers of Canada.  Thank you to both of you, and to her daughter Casia for adding something special to the printed edition.   The idea that I printed another comic is awesome.

But that’s not all.  I have had the distinct pleasure to interview some really cool people.  I want to thank Simon Rose, Ksenia Anske, Brian Hades, Drea Darc, Tommy Hancock, Rae Hope Pantalleresco my sister, Madeleine Holly-Rosing, Andrew Lorenz, Christine Steedham and the School of Bitches for their time and energy is awesome.  I evolved my style of interview this year and it wouldn’t have been possible without these individuals.  I got to admit my sister is a bit of soft spot for me this year here, but honestly all of them are good and fun.

I even got something cool and unexpected this year being a part of School of Bitches – The book of Genesis number 4 which is out in the UK.  There is a special interview that is only there.  So yeah, I got published in the UK this year.  How cool is that?

All in all I’ve had the chance to travel two countries, talk to creative, talented people about their dreams and aspirations and move forward on mine.  I don’t know about you, but that’s a pretty good year.

And it will continue.

The best piece of advice this year I got was from my dad.  He pointed out that volume is the key to success and that I have to continue.  And I am and will.  I will keep making volume, whether it’s paradigm 2 or book 2 of the Watcher saga or one of the other projects I’m working on as we speak.  I end this year with a statement:

Be bold.

I am one of those people that has zero problems making an ass of myself on stage.  I did karaoke the other night, and one of my co-workers of my day job remarked that they’d never have the guts to butcher a song like I did.  I pointed out that there isn’t really anything to lose.  You might suck going out there, but you never know until you do.  While I wouldn’t give up my day job to be a singer, I have no problems being bold and sticking my neck out there.

So that is my wish for all of you.  Whatever you dream, whatever you go for – do it.  There is no real failure unless you quit or not try, so do neither and keep moving forward.  Make your own noise and volume.

As for me, I’m looking forward to working with Kristen Denbow, Florence Chan, JR Stewart, Justine Alley Dowsett and Murandy Damodred this year.  I also hope to keep cultivating new relationships and see where this journey continues to take me.  I am going to have an awesome 2015, and I wish you all the same.

Stay Inspired.

Joshua Pantalleresco

Calgary, 2015