Tags

, , , , , , ,

It’s been a while since I actually did some writing on the site beyond the interviews.  That said, I gotta say I’ve been proud of the last few I’ve done.   They seem like these out of control conversations and I have to say I enjoyed them.  I think at some point I’m going to get serious about a podcast.   I genuinely have enjoyed the conversations I’ve done – so much in fact that I am going to redo the interview I did with Anthony Maniscalco.  I looked at the text and questions he answered.  They were good don’t get me wrong, but after all these wonderful conversations I want to do him justice doing the same thing.

So who’s next?  Janice Blaine, who is an amazing cover artist.  Look for it early next week.

Paradigm issue two is pencilled and inked.  This means that I have to start on the script to issue 3.  I know exactly how the story goes, and know exactly what kind of personality I’m going to introduce in there.  Paradigm has been a fun collaboration with Twyla April.  I encourage you to read the whole first issue at http://paradigmcomic.wordpress.com.

A very revolutionary project worked on by Gio Marko at the moment is coming to fruition.  I hadn’t expected to be working on this quite so fast, but it’s really fantastic to see some of the early looks.  At some point I am going to have to have Gio on this site to be interviewed.  His process looks intriguing.

I got a couple of other things in various stages.  For the first time in a long time I was actually sick this weekend.  I’m catching up now and am hoping to finish a couple of things and start a new thing.  In two weeks I head to TO for a couple of days before I head down and see some family and friends.  I am looking forward to meeting some cool people on the journey and we are going to see a few of them on the site sooner than later.

I’ve noticed a few things about my style this year.  I’ve found myself bouncing back and forth between these epic poems and stories and this off the wall beats.   I like both of them for different reasons.  It’s who I am.  I care about deep concepts like God, who we are, where we come from and where we are going.  The Watcher is very much about where we can go, which ultimately might be the most important question of all.

Then there is Paradigm.  Paradigm is about a super powered team saving the world from his parents.  This is just a bonkers kind of story and I’m adding all these neat and cool references from my childhood.  Issue two has a few more homages, including the coolest designed secret laboratory for a cosmic scientist.

Also, the comic scripting.  In The Gio Marko project, I used the word pretty a lot.  I never ever thought I’d use the word pretty (oh so pretty, oh so pretty and witty and…) this many times.   And in Paradigm I used the word chibi. (if there was a cool song with the word chibi, it would be inserted here.  There’s not.  At least not that I’m aware of.)

What does this say about me?  I enjoy frivolity as much as serious and I embrace both.  I take them out in different ways, but in the end it satisfies me as an artist or writer or whatever you want to call me.

I think good writing comes from that. You have to find that niche you enjoy and just do it.  Cater to the audience you understand and do stuff.

I think that’s it for now.   I hope to have more soon.

Stay Inspired.