Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Okay, this is going to be a different kind of post.  A lot of things are going to be covered here, but hopefully the whole post is a positive one, as today I’m going to be doing an experiment.

Before we begin, a little news before we begin:

My Sister’s Art Showcase at the Lux Laundromat begins in just a couple of days.  Throughout the month of August you can check out the laundromat and see works that will inspire you.  Rae Hope Pantalleresco will be conducting an open house on August 15th at 9pm.  I designed a cool little poster (with a little assistance from Rae herself.)  Check it out right here:

Rachel FinalCheck out the show.  You won’t regret it.

My comic Paradigm is continuing onward on its wordpress site.  Truth be told, I don’t give the comic the love and attention it deserves.  Issue one is nearly done being presented on the web as Page 19 came out this week, written by yours truly, illustrated by Twyla April and Lettered and James Reddington.  Check out the link at http://paradigmcomic.wordpress.com for more details.  Issue two is halfway written, and about a quarter drawn as of this writing.

Finally, there is The Watcher.  You can get the beta version of the book at Smashwords, or purchase the book at Amazon or a myriad of other locations.  Check out the Watcher page at the top of the page for more details.

Okay, advertisements are over.  Although these advertisements are not without purpose here.  What do all these things have in common?  One word.  Passion.

For those that know me, my philosophy of life isn’t really that complicated.  I pursue my dreams.  My goal is to make them real.  Call me cocky, confident, whatever you will, but I believe I’m great.  Not in that I’m the best thing since God created the earth, but I believe that I’m not some insignificant speck in this universe either.  I am more and there is more.  I seek to achieve greatness, and to me, nothing is greater than to take the things you’ve been dreaming about and making them real.

I have been pursuing my dreams for a long time.   I’ve been working full time for a long time too.  It’s no secret that writing is a passion project for a lot of people, which is fancy way of saying there is a degree of starvation of it.  It’s the nature of the beast and I’m not complaining; I’m simply pointing out that most of us have to make ends meet in other ways from time to time.

Two weeks ago it caught up to me.   I’m working on a litany of things all of the time, and my job is fairly physical.  I burned out hard about two weeks ago.   Work suspended me for a week for tardiness.  When I walked out Friday, I was fried.

I slept.  I cannot tell you how often I push myself right to the limit every night, only to get up and repeat.  I realize that I hit my limits last week.  I slept.  I slept a lot that week.  It felt great.  I’m not aching all over, and I was able to just relax and enjoy myself.  Thanks to all my friends that I spent time with and was just able to do things with.

I was at a little crossroads.  Let’s be honest; I was scared.  I had planned to cut back on my day job for a while.  It was just a matter of waiting for the right time.  The right time it seemed had hit right now.  I still kind of fought it, until I went to church that weekend.

I met two people who encouraged me all kinds of ways.  One was a gal from france who takes amazing pictures and dreams of publishing magazines sometime.  (If you are reading this, don’t worry, I’ll be sending you stuff soon.  Check your email.)

The other, was an elderly gentleman who was finally climbing out of his debts, and had taken an interest in me because of the title of my book, The Watcher.  I was teaching both of them a little bit about where they wanted to go.  I wish them both well.  One day I’ll be reading online pamphlets of inspiration and reading awesome magazines from the both of them.

The point is, they have a dream and want to pursue it.  I have to do the same.  My hours will soon be cut back and I’ll be free.  I have a lot of opportunities to start with on making this really work and I want to give it the old college try.  I’ve said this in the past multiple times, but this time, it feels like I’ve gone far enough to take a deeper plunge.

It may not take this time.  I may have to fluctuate back into the day job a little bit more full time off and on.  But I’m moving forward.

I can’t settle.   I’m a poor man in a poor world and I can’t help but think that there’s this whole wide world out there that I need to be a part of.  Hopefully if you’ve come this far you feel this way too.

Hence, the experiment.

On facebook I shared this poem with random people.  I’m sharing it here now. It’s called This I Believe.  People that read it seemed genuinely touched by it, and I’d like to do it again this week.  Only this time, I invite each and every one of you to join me.  I haven’t written it yet, but I will by this Thursday.  There’s no strings attached.  If you don’t want to, you don’t have to.  If you do though, leave me a comment and a way to contact you.  I promise it will be worth it.

Go out there and do what you feel makes you great.  I will carry on as well.

Stay Inspired.

Joshua Pantalleresco

This I Believe

that word called normal

the established path

order and monotomy

isn’t for all for us

I don’t fit into that

the beat of my own drum ratatats on

calling me to my own path

my own dreams to follow

I will be bold

daring to do things no one has tried

even if I don’t do them well

I went out on the limb

I play it dangerously

nothing is gained in this world by playing it safe

there is no sure thing

why pretend it exists?

I am free

questioning everything

daring to look at the established order

and turn it on its head

may I encourage others to be independent

that if I have the courage to follow my dreams

that others would do the same

that they too would find their own path

I am independent

I am free spirited

I am a dreamer

may you dare to dream with me