Tags

, , , , ,

Thanks to my new friend Lee Miller, I’m going to do something a little different.  I got a lot of news coming up next week, but this was far too good to pass up.

Before we continue, take a look at this picture right here:

lekha-character-biography

Taken from www.lekhaink.com

The only question I had doing this was which character should I do.   The Watcher is the big release, and the idea of telling people the plot through getting acquainted with my main character.  On the other hand, Paradigm is really getting rolling.  There are reasons to do both of them.   The other thought that came to me was that I could debut something completely new.

Each of them have an appeal, so I think my solution is to do all of them.   Not all at once mind you, but one at a time.

What to do first?  The next big project seems far off, so I’ll do one of the two.  It seems to make sense to focus on The Watcher.  Paradigm does have its own website, and there this same study will work quite nicely.

So without further or do, I give you The Watcher.

9780992049027-Perfect copy

1. What is the name of your main character? Is he or she fictional or a historic person?

My character actually doesn’t have a name as of this writing.  The Watcher is told completely from his perspective.   His thoughts and feelings are clearly presented.   In the sequel, I may give him a name.   For now I will simply say his name is the watcher.   He is fictional.

2. When and where is the story set?

When is relative.  I would say somewhere in the far future where calendars and dates are irrevelent.  The landscape is no longer familiar at all.  Cities are ancient and decaying as nature is swallowing up ancient civilization one little bit at a time.  My main character starts the story inside a compound with farmland and things.  Think a district kind of like the Hunger Games, but with a more agricultural bent.

3. What should we know about him or her?

He is a slave and has always been a slave when the story begins.  He is a Watcher, someone that works at the top of the tower watching the sun and signs of weather coming into the compound.   He is guarded by dragons – the now ruling cast in this world.   Humans serve them and fulfill their needs as slaves.  He too slaves for them, yet while he works he dreams.  He wonders what is beyond the compound he grew up in.   He wonders what lays beyond the crooked building and scenery he sees day in and out.

His curiosity turns into a burning desire as time marches on, allowing the Watcher to plot his escape.

4. What is the main conflict? What messes up his life?

The conflict in the story is that he is a slave, and he knows that as long as he lives in the compound that is all he’ll ever be.  Looking up into the horizon, the watcher knows that there is indeed more out there.  Escaping and eluding the Dragons is only the beginning.

5. What is his personal goal?

The Watcher wants simply to know what is out there at first.  As time goes on, concepts such as mine and freedom enter the equation, changing the Watcher into something more than he was than he started.   His goals evolve as he grows.

6. Is there a working title for this novel, and can we read more about it?

As you can see above, The Watcher is the title of the book.  You can read more about it in one of two ways.   You can check out my publisher’s write up on the watcher and buy the ebook at http://www.mirrorworldpublishing.com/there-is-more.

The other option is that you can read a draft of the Watcher at Smashwords.   I suppose I should make this announcement now, but starting next week, this draft of the Watcher is going to be free.  It’s an earlier draft of the work and while I’m still very proud of it, I think the version Mirror World is publishing is much better.   But if you want to kind of see the baby pictures of how a project like this evolves, you can go check it out here:  https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/385912

7. When can we expect the book to be published?

As already discussed, you can read an earlier draft of the book at Smashwords if you desire to.  As is, the current book will be published next week on June 17th.  You can already order the kindle edition of the book at Amazon at this link right here: http://www.amazon.ca/Watcher-Joshua-Pantalleresco-ebook/dp/B00KME05QS/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1402652803&sr=1-1&keywords=Joshua+Pantalleresco

That all said, The Watcher will be able at most major retail outlets.  You’ll have to look me up, as Mirror World is a small house, but if you type me up I should be there.

Finally, failing that you can still do Mirror World’s Website listed in question 6.  Finally, in the event you run into me at a convention, I’ll happily sell you one myself, complete with autograph.   In any case, there will be copies available for anyone who wants one.

 

That’s it really.  Next week, I’ll do one for paradigm for the webcomic as a neat bonus.   In the meantime, it’s my turn to pass this bad boy on.   So without further ado:

 

Lee Miller:  She did send it to me after all.  She should have to read this interview.   Lee is hard at work on her first novel, but her blog does contains cool bits like this and some of her own views on writing.  She’s worth reading.

Simon Rose:   I just talked to Simon on the blog last week. He is a children’s book author who’s books can be found in major retailers and you can find him easily enough on Amazon.

Kory M. Shrum:  Kory is working hard on her Jesse Sullivan series.  Her first book, Dying For A Living, is a fascinating world and a neat concept.  Kory’s books can be found on Amazon as well and her website is filled with interesting stuff, including an interview with yours truly.

Derek Donais:  Derek’s Metalmagic series has the cool distinction of beating The Wheel of Time on an amazon best seller list.  It is fantastic epic fantasy, and should be read everywhere.   Derek is awesome.  Where’s book three already?

Barry Reese:   Barry is one of the most prolific pulp writers out there today.  His Gravedigger, Lazarus Grey and Rook series are critically acclaimed and are available at most major retailers.

Ksenia Anske:  Ksenia is a firecracker of a storyteller with compelling, haunting stories like the Siren Suicides and Rosehead.  Her philosophies on writing are compelling, and refreshing.  Her blog is one of the best things writers can read, and her stories are amazing.  I’m hoping to interview her again soon.  Stay tuned.

Jo-Anne Sieppert: Writes some very compelling fiction with the young adult Nytstars series and the urban fantasy/teen romance series Aberrant.   Again, someone I need to interview at some point again.

That’s a pretty good list.  I encourage everyone to check this list out.  There are some amazing reads by some amazing talents in there.  I can’t wait to see what they come up with.

Next week, I have a very cool interview that will be up a day early, and next tuesday- there is more.

That’s all there really is to say.