Tags

, , , , ,

I think we’re going to forego numbers from now on with Anything.  Looking at it, the whole number thing just seemed kind of lame you know?  Besides, I’ve kind of got a writing schedule going on now.   Thanks to regular postings from Paradigm, (which you can conveniently read at http://paradigmcomic.wordpress.com) I think I have a set time to  do all the blogging thing I need to.  Since my goal has been able to write full time, I need discipline.

Artists in general need discipline.  Doing anything with any kind of consistency takes supreme effort.  It’s easy to take time to I don’t know, play video games (my Playstation 3 is kind of lonely), sleep (probably should do more of it to be honest), or well..anything.  If anything right now, it’s tough for me to do anything else and I may have to make an effort to take the time to schedule enjoyment.  That’s funny writing that; scheduling time to enjoy it.  But I think that’s the way it has to be.  If you are serious about pursuing your dreams, you have to sacrifice your time and effort to achieve your goals.  Thanks to Paradigm, I think I finally got the whole discipline thing ready to click.  As you are about to read, there are really cool payoffs to taking that time and effort.

On that note, let’s talk about The Watcher.  I finally got the release date of the book in print!  So excited!

Ready?

June 17th.    So in about two months I will have my first printed book ever published by Mirror World Publishing.  In the next weeks and months to come, you’ll see stuff I’m sure coming, but at this moment, I can bask in the thought that I’m getting my first book in print published by someone else.  I did it.

Now I got to do it again.

One thought about work in general before I move on:  It’s about how smart you work too.  There’s no point in just working for the sake of working.  Most people I work with on the day job are working that job and maybe one or two others.  That’s great and all, but there has to be goals.  Working for the sake of working is no life.  As I state in the Watcher, there is more.  Focusing on what matters to you is as important as the work ethic you bring.  If you don’t have a focus, you’ll just spin out of control.  If my dad reads this paragraph, I think he will be proud.  I think so, anyways.

My immediate goals is to create an audience and that means content.   So from here on in, Paradigm will keep airing monday and wednesdays on paradigmcomics.wordpress.com.  On this wordpress site, I will try to have an interview each tuesday and an Anything column each Thursday.  Both my blogs will be updated four times a week.  Beyond the blogs, right now I’m working on issue two of Paradigm, and working on my next couple of projects beyond the Watcher, one of which I hope to announce soon.

Finally, this weekend I will be at Calgary Comic and Entertainment Expo.  I will not be there on preview night, but I will be there Friday, Saturday and Sunday, promoting primarily Paradigm.  Hope to see you there.

See you next week.