Tags

, , , , ,

Andrew Lorenz is not someone I know personally.  That said, for being a stranger, he’s sure been nice to me.  If I ever said anything positive or talking about my books, I often found myself being retweeted and favorited by him.  Curious, I started to talk to him.

I was amazed with how many comics he had done.  Checking out his work on Indy Planet he’s done an impressive amount of work. I haven’t picked it up yet, so I’ll refer you to the interview below, but it gave me the impression that Andrew is a dedicated man working on his craft like me and others I know.  His company is this ultra cool comic company named called September 17.  September 17 intrigued me the moment I saw.  What happened that day?  Should I know?

As for Andrew as a person, I found him to be an approachable and decent time.  Personally, I think  he doesn’t have great taste in Hockey.  The Detroit Red Wings are the ONLY hockey team worth talking about,  and that any other team isn’t worth being talked about.  Not that Andrew would agree with me, but this is my blog, so this is how hockey rules here.  (Go Detroit!)

That all said, Andrew is a pretty deep dude.  As we talk about Legacy and New Guard below, I find I’m talking to a guy that has experienced a lot.  Legacy’s premise indicated to me that Andrew had witnessed decline like I had in Windsor.  We bonded on that and our love of comics.  Up the way I hope to be able to talk to him again.

 

Legacy ImageJoshua Pantalleresco:  Why do you call yourself September 17?  What is so special about that day?

Andrew Lorenz:  September17 Productions is the name I came up with for the company because it’s a date that seems strangely linked to my life in a variety of ways. My parents anniversary falls on that day, it’s the founding of the city of Boston and the birthday of my all-time favorite writer, Robert B. Parker (who was born in, and wrote stories set in Boston). I first started reading his work when my mother introduced me to it through his novel from the Spenser series, Past Time. Another connection to that city, and that date, came from my favorite hockey team, the Boston Bruins (of whom my father was a fan for many years) who traditionally have their training camp start that day. Seventeen is a number that keeps popping up for me so I sort of adopted that as the name. And my birthday is in September as well (not the 17th though).

JP:  Your first book I found on your site is Legacy.  What is that about?

AL:  LEGACY is the story of a city that has seen better days. I think that in itself is something that a lot of places around the world can relate to. It’s a city that needs something to remind it of the greatness that it once had, a city that could be great again if it could overcome the crime and apathy that seems to have settled on its streets. One day, a day like far too many others, a group of criminals pull off a violent day-time heist, fleeing pursuit by the police, shooting indiscriminately, but unlike what the citizens have come to expect, a masked hero literally drops down into the scene and stops the getaway. Is he there to protect the city? It certainly seems so. Why is he here and who is he? Is he the symbol of hope that the people have been needing? And he’s but one part of the city; there are dozens of people whose lives will have an effect on Legacy (which is both the name of the book and the city in which the stories take place) some good, some bad. LEGACY will cover stories from the city’s founding to the far future, all intertwined much like the people themselves. It’s a story of the pieces and how they fit together to become something more, something larger.

JP:  Has Toronto and Southwestern Ontario influenced the kind of city legacy is?  When I lived there about twelve years ago (can’t believe it’s been that long) it was a lot more prosperous than it was now.  Is Legacy’s story impacted by that?

AL: If the city of Legacy is influenced in that way by anything I’d say it’s a combination of Detroit and  Winnipeg (which is a city near where I grew up and live). Pretty much everyone is familiar with Detroit and it’s decline from one of the most prosperous cities in the USA to declaring bankruptcy not that long ago. Many cities around the world have experienced that sort of fall from grace but to me Detroit really stands out.

Winnipeg is a city that, if you speak to most residents, is a city that is extremely cynical about itself. It’s a city that talks about improving itself but gets down on things once they start to not work out quite as they expected it to. A great example of that can be found in the professional sports teams or in the Human Rights Museum. People had high expectations and when things weren’t as smooth as they could’ve been, the public quickly lost faith.
Not to say that there aren’t bright spots to be found. It’s also a city that has a rich history and has produced some pretty talented people. When the city got an NHL team again there was a huge amount of positive spirit about it around the city and the entire province, and despite more downs than ups, there is still a lot of good feelings about the return.
There’s hope. And that’s what Paragon (our masked hero in LEGACY) is about. Providing that bit of hope that wasn’t there before.

JP:   Do you have an ending in mind for Legacy?  Or is this something you see yourself always working on in some way?

AL:I do have an ending in mind for LEGACY. Whether I get there is a whole ‘nother thing. The original plan for the book was a ten year plan- and since then it’s bumped up to eleven. Realistically unless the series takes off I’ll never make it to the 150 issues that LEGACY is set for (unless someone has a spare $750,000 they don’t need) but the immediate goal is to take it to #12 and see what happens from there. By the end of this year we’ll see LEGACY #5 come out and then after that we’ll be slowing that title down and expanding into other books that cover different parts of the S17verse.

JP:   Tell me what’s coming up in Legacy.

AL: Hmm. Hard to say too much without giving anything away but I’ll see what I can do… When we left off LEGACY #2, Assistant District Attorney Alex Vance (also known as the superhero Paragon) was shot outside of the D.A’s office by a sniper for reasons unknown. How the bullet was able to pierce his skin is as much a mystery as why Paragon was shot and how they knew his secret identity. Legacy is going to need it’s hero though, as there is a very large threat headed it’s way. Very large. And with Paragon seemingly the only superhero out there, they had better hope that he isn’t dead.

 LEGACY #5 and #6 start to introduce to the larger world of the S17verse. We get some glimpses past the streets of Legacy and an idea that there’s more going on out there than what people realize. LEGACY #6 leads into what I’ve dubbed the “summer blockbuster” of the S17verse, The Third Age and that REALLY pulls back the curtain.

Legacy Cover

That’ll do for part one.  Part two will be up next week.  For more information on Legacy check it out at Indy Planet right here.  I know I will be soon.  You can also look up the book and some other pieces of Andrew’s stuff here as well.  Andrews website can be found at this address here:  http://andrewlorenz753.wix.com/september17.  Here you’ll find info on Andrew’s current products.   His facebook is for September 17 productions right here at https://www.facebook.com/September17Productions and finally you can follow Andrew on twitter  .  Again, I cannot apologize enough in advance for his hockey choices, but as they say, there is no accounting for taste.

Seriously though, Andrew is a cool guy.  In Part two I will get to his influences and talk a little about a few other projects as well.  I want to thank Andrew right here for his time and hope to see you guys back here next week.