Tags

, , , , , , ,

Mirror World

I’ve been busy.

but first:  HOL-Y Crap.  Drea Darc nearly set a record for most hits for me in a day.  I want to thank everyone for checking it out and hopefully, voting for her in CBC’s Music Search contest.

Okay, back to the present.  When I published The Watcher months ago, there really was no master plan with the Watcher.  I had a story come out of nowhere, and I had to tell it.  Considering what cool things happened the first time I put together another book of poetry, and being older and wiser (or some such thing) that this book, compared to at least the last one, would be special and better.    I think it has, but it’s still early.

Anyways, two weeks ago I get a contract for it in the mail.  As of a few days ago, I signed with Mirror World Publishing.   Specifically, I’m signing up with them with the Watcher.  I interviewed Justine Alley Dowsett about her book Mirror’s Hope, and it seems as though I made a good impression.  More important; Murandy and Justine were a big help putting The Watcher together, and it seemed like a good fit.  I’m really happy to have started somewhere and hopefully this will lead to bigger and better things for all of us.

It’s a good lesson for me.  You don’t always get immediate results with whatever you are doing at the time, but by doing things, doors open.  This was another one of those unexpected doors and I can’t wait to see this in print and available for all to see.  Really, the last thing I expected was that someone believed in me enough to give me a piece of paper that says they want to publish it.   How cool is that?  If that’s not exceeding expectations, I don’t know what is.

I’m not sure exactly when the book is coming out yet.  It will be sooner than later, but beyond that, not so sure.  Until I do know, while I wait you can see me talking about the Watcher with Kory M. Shrum on her site right here if you like.  I think I talked well, but I come off as some kind of designer guru (nothing could be further from the truth.)

There is more, (and not just the twitter hashtag #thereismore).  As we speak I’m working on the second issue of something else I’m happy to announce here.  I’ve been working on another comic series with the talented Twyla April for about a few months.  We are about two weeks away from launching it on the site as the first issue is just about finished.  I’m writing scripts as we speak, and Twyla is already demanding me to send her stuff.   She’s so bossy.

So what is the new comic series?  It’s called Paradigm.   Paradigm is about a superpowered teen who uses his imagination to save the world from his parents.  If it sounds very young adultish it’s because it is.  Twyla has a very nice manga style and I wanted to do something fun with it.  It’s been a pleasure to watch her grow as an artist and learn how to do a comic all over again.  It’s difficult for a writer to do a comic, considering his/her limitations.   I’m not sure if this is the greatest story I have ever told, but it’s one of the most fun.  If you are a big fan of the disney afternoon, or grew up watching gnarly cartoons like Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, or just enjoy some zany fun, this will be for you.  Pages will come out twice a week, and we’ll work our way towards a little graphic novel.  Who knows where it’ll go from there?

I really should show you a cover shouldn’t I?

Hold that thought…

cover copy

There you go.  See that cover, and love it.  At least, I hope you love it.  More to come in a couple of weeks.

Finally, this is convention season for me.  I’m doing a lot of conventions this year, but this month I’m just doing two.   In two weeks I do my first convention in Vancouver British Columbia.  I will be part of Fan Expo April 18th-20th.  Come visit if you are there.  The week after I will be at Calgary Entertainment Expo, promoting both new projects.

I’m going to take this moment to thank Murandy Damodred, Justine Alley Dowsett, Twyla April, Jim Reddington, and everyone else that’s helping me move forward in my dreams.

I’m pretty excited.  Lots of cool things going on, and while I have no clear idea where things are going at this moment, I’m proud of the things I’m doing where it all may lead.  For tonight, that’s enough.

More to come soon…