Tags

, , , , , ,

If you’ve been paying attention to my twitter account, you’ll find that whenever I talk about my work The Watcher I mention the hashtag #thereismore.   I came across the whole idea of there is more when I finished the book Velvet Elvis by Rob Bell.  One of the tenets he mentioned most Christians do believe in is those three words.  There is more.   There is more than in the heavens and in this earth.  There is more than we can see, feel, touch and taste.  I think if nothing else, this is true on one simple level:  There is so much out there that I haven’t seen, haven’t done and haven’t experienced.  For all the pain and toil most of us struggle through, there are just moments in life when it feels like you can feel the whole of the world and how it ebbs and flows.  It’s amazing to realize how big and profound this mechanism we dwell truly is.

I gotta do more while I’m here.

The Watcher came out last december.  I plan on this year releasing the sequel, as well as at least two other books – one of them a comic.  I’m going to tour.  I’m going back to some places I’ve been to already familiar with.

On a personal level, I’m going to get better.   I’ve been scared of drawing – actually, scared is kind of the wrong word.  I dismissed it as a kid.  This in part was done due to a lack of concern from people like my dad, who rather I learn to read, count and think for myself.  Little did I realize how much that education would be needed with my endeavors.  I’ve been in magazines, comics and a few other things and what has struck me is how visual my genre really is.  Presentation is everything.  (James A. Owen may be proud of me saying that.)

The other major issue for this revelation is the fact that finding good quality artists are hard.  I’ve been blessed to work with a few of them in the last bit – but when it comes to comics, my luck hasn’t been the best – especially to finish my series Veritas.  A friend of mine talked down this book at a con I was at, calling it a cancelled book.  It’s really awkward to hear a friend think of something you worked on like that, but his reasoning was sound.  I haven’t been able to do another issue for two years now.  It may be another two or who knows when it will continue.  That said, I’m not giving up.  I’m just going to take matters into my own hands.

So now, I got to do something I’ve promised myself for awhile now.  I’m going to start drawing.  I’m starting with cards.  I’ve been a big fan of playing cards since I was one years old.  Playing cards is what taught me to count way back in the day.   Playing cards are what are going to teach me to draw.  Well, that and magic cards.

I’ve been playing magic the gathering off and on for most of my teenage and adult life.  I enjoy the game thoroughly and just won a tournament with my current deck.  I’m proud of it, and want to build on its success.  So that deck is what I’m drawing as well.

I don’t know if I’ll ever be great at it, but it’s a skill I think i need to learn to understand better.  I also want to someday in some form work on that story myself if push comes to shove, so I can tell my friend to take his comments and shove them up his arse.  So, it’s time to learn to draw.

A couple of smaller goals:  My teeth were damaged, but my struggles in Arizona wrecked them beyond belief.  This year I start fixing them.  I don’t know if I’ll get them all done this year, but I will try to get that road started.   I want to finally learn to drive, and I want my fender back.  I’m going to pick up a fender and start playing it again.  I thoroughly enjoyed the guitar and much like drawing I want to work at getting to the point I enjoy myself doing it.

All in all, I want to keep growing and try to become a better person.

We’ll see what happens.

I hope wherever you are and whatever you are doing, you too strive and become better.  Interviews will resume soon, starting with Barry Reese, and will hopefully gather more different kinds of people, not just artists, but activists, performers, maybe politicians even.  Who knows?  Everyone has a story to tell.  It’s be interesting to capture as many as I can as possible.

I’ve written eight hundred words about this now.  Enough writing, it’s time to do it.  Good luck to everyone this year.  May you too grow and discover not just how big the world is out there, but the worlds that are big inside you as well.

There is always more.