Tags

, , , ,

I feel bad about this interview from my end for a number of reasons. First off, I kept thinking this movie was called Old Man at Sea for some strange reason. I kept thinking maybe a little too hard of Moby Dick when Nick described his film to me. Or maybe I’m just silly. In any case I feel bad about that, and the fact that this interview is a touch late.

Because you see, the cause is amazing and Nick Haywood is a talented individual that deserves to be funded for his hard work. If you don’t believe me check out Nick’s channels and films. They are amazing. His channels are here:
https://vimeo.com/nickhaywood/videos and here: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UC673qNmUjc8gN8GL6tZZT_Q . Nick has done a great job and I want to see him continue.

I first met Nick working on Agophobia. I got caught up with him on the premier and found out that he has since started working on his latest film A Man at Sea. He currently has a solid majority of the film done and needs just a little bit more funding to finish.

We talk about that and some of Nick’s other experiences in film.

Joshua Pantalleresco: So where did A Man at Sea germinate from?

Nick Haywood: Around the top of my second year at SAIT, I came up with the germ of the film when I thought it would be funny to make a movie about a guy obsessed with a Boating magazine, when he in fact has never sailed or even been on a boat in his entire life.

It’s all up for grabs on whether anyone else will find that funny, but I thought I’d give it a go. It evolved quite a bit after that.

JP: Did Leo Capra come from a personal influence or people you’ve seen?

NH: Leo Capra is a hodgepodge of personal experience and various observations. I’m neurotic on a good day, so as I graduated from film school last year, I was afraid I’d get lazy, as I often do, and just rest on the good ideas I had in my head that I never thought to act on.

I translated that thought into Leo’s obsession with owning a sailboat, but fearing to make any real steps towards his dream. The dream sustains him but pushes everyone else around him away.

This really isn’t sounding like a comedy right now is it?

JP: No, your premise doesn’t sound that humorous, but it could be good. You should look up Rob Osborne’s The Infamous Zango sometime. It’s a comic about a supervillain trying to be number one without doing the work. It does lead to a good question though – where does this fear of being lazy about your ideas come from?

NH: This idea of fearing a personal penchant for laziness stems from loads of times in my life when I didn’t act under circumstances I should have, just because “I wasn’t there yet”. Towards the end of film school, I guess I didn’t have any shortage of ideas on the subject.

JP: I’ve worked with you a touch on Agophobia, but I really don’t know much about your film history. What other films have you done, and was this your first time directing?

NH: I have directed a few of my own short films which you can find on my vimeo or youtube channels. These were micro ideas done on my own time with almost no money. In retrospect I can consider them practice films on the way to A Man At Sea. I think the respective crews and myself still get a kick out of them though.

I have also acted as an Assistant Director on various independent short films and music videos.

Last summer I spent six weeks as a Grip Trainee on the sixth season of Heartland, which in turn helped fund Principal Photography.

JP: I’ve looked at the rewards and am intrigued about the oil paintings. Who is Lizzie Carr and what role does she play in the project?

NH: Lizzie Carr is an emerging painter currently based in Calgary. She has donated a painting inspired by the film. This painting, in print form, is one of our special perks.

Examples of her work can be found at http://www.lizziecarr.com

JP: Once filmed, what are your plans for Old Man At The Sea? Will it be in festivals, local theatres – what are the plans?

NH: Once we finish shooting the film in Vancouver, the goal is to run the film in the respective North American and International festival circuits. After we’ve ran the gamut with prospective festivals, we will release the film online.

JP: How was your heartland experience? What was it like working on a television show?

NH: Working on Heartland last year put my experience into perspective as I learned very quickly how to conduct myself on a professional film or television set. However, that does not counteract the warm welcome the cast and crew gave everyone on that show. You quickly felt like a family on set.

This surprised me as I only spent 6 weeks on the show as a Grip Trainee. The great thing about Gripping is that your entire workload is in between takes, so you get a lot of time to simply watch, to observe the give and take.

JP: Awesome! Do you have anything else on the go at the moment film wise? What are you working on right now?

NH: As we gear towards the end of A Man At Sea, I have been juggling my time between work, and the writing of a script that I wish to turn into my feature film debut. It’s a psychological thriller set around the meeting of a desperate Thief and a polished Serial Killer.

I edited a sample scene from the film as test of sorts that I will likely put online shortly.

Thanks Nick!

To see a trailer of A man at sea click here: http://vimeo.com/56573074

If you like it and want to see more of it, you can check out Nick’s Indiegogo project here: http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/a-man-at-sea-a-short-film

AMAS Poster High Res