Tags

, , ,

This is my opinion.  You don’t have to agree.  In fact, let us reason together if that is the case.  So  if you want to skip this for some fun go ahead.  Fun things are coming.  But this gun thing is going on and on and on and I just can’t take it anymore.  I have a voice – let it be heard.

I hate guns.  I’m uncomfortable with the idea that something like this exists.  Death is just a pull of a trigger away.  It makes me uncomfortable to realize that life is just that fragile.  It’s here and – BAM! – gone just like that.  If I’m honest with myself, I like to think I’m invincible and that these things exist reminds me just how easily it can all be taken away.

This tragedy that occurred isn’t even the first one.  What happened today is a rerun of the past – which is truly the tragedy in all this.   Heck it wasn’t even the only tragedy that day.  In china, a man stabbed 22 children while this was going on.  The synchronicity of it was just incredible.

What’s different now?   We’re questioning the position of guns in society.  I love facebook for this as I’m still seeing things about the whole incident.  The divergent points of view I see on this issue was fascinating worldwide.  Some people want to see guns out right go away.  Other people want things to continue as they are.  I think though honestly both sides are blind.  This tragedy, horrible as it was, is a symptom of a much larger problem.  Something that I think most people want to ignore, but we are coming closer and closer to the point where no one can run from it.

The truth:  I think if we all were honest with ourselves, no one likes the idea of guns in our society.  It creates tension in our whole system.  The idea that your life can be snuffed with a pull of a trigger does that.  But let’s be honest here, guns are here to stay.

So what is one to do?

We’re trying to prevent something like this from happening again right?  So why aren’t we looking at everything that factors into this?  Guns are in some ways the simplest part of the problem.   Let’s ask a few harder questions, like were all these people are some kind of anti-depressant?  If so, what?  Did that factor into their decision to do things?  How many guns are produced yearly?  Does it make sense that with a military larger than any four countries, new and exciting ways to kill people are constantly being researched at and invented?  Does that factor into the kind of terrorism inside the country?

Other hard questions: say you made guns illegal, how is a person supposed to defend themselves in some states?  There are counties and sections of states in Ohio, Michigan, and Indiana for example that have one police officer per one hundred and fifty square miles.  How does one person protect themselves in the event of robbery or someone trying to attack and harm you and others in those areas?  Do you send the army into these places?  How about the rest of the country?  What kind of country would it become with the military as a police force?

I ask these questions – I could ask a ton more – because the initial reactions on both sides have been based on fear.  I’m really not sure if giving everyone guns would have stopped those shootings.   Would it have made them think twice to trying?  Maybe.  Maybe not.  When people have nothing to lose, they lose it.

Which perhaps is the next issue.  Do I really think this is going to be the last time something like this happens?  I would like to say yes, but I’m being optimistic.  The truth is, The United States is becoming poorer day by day.  People have lost a lot in the last few years, and this current “Recovery” still really isn’t one.   People have lost things and are angry because our government has done nothing to protect us.   If anything, the government has moved in to try and control the system even more.  Yet for all their power, they seem to accomplish absolutely nothing, but acquire more power.

When people lose everything, they lose it.  It’s a small wonder this doesn’t happen more often.  That I think is the scariest part of all of this.

So what to do?

Outlawing guns isn’t the answer.  They are still being made, and I really dislike the idea of a government this corrupt having the powers it has.  I’m sure the military in this country could disarm each and every citizen if it wanted to, that said, I think I like the idea of a lot more guns going around.   Concentrating power, any power is a bad idea.

So what about you and me?  Should guns be harder to acquire?

I would love it if every person that is required to have a gun is also required to learn how to use it.   Nothing teaches respect more so than learning about something.   Respect maybe will create that hesitation a little more from taking it out and to be honest, most people I know with guns are very respectful when it comes to using them.  Most legislations will punish these people.  I’m really not a fan of the NRA in this either.  They are pro gun because they benefit from the business end of it.  It’s disgusting, but truth.

I have no easy answer.  In a perfect world, the United States doesn’t need to make a single bomb, gun, or military aircraft ever again at this moment.  There is no need.  There is such an astronomical amount of arms here – combined with navy, aircraft etc. that the US doesn’t ever need to make another gun again.   Maybe the real solution here is to look at how the US as a country spends money, and maybe how it treats it poor, it’s less fortunate.  That more than anything is a tell tale sign of maybe why these things are happening, and until those problems are dealt with, I don’t see this issue changing or stopping.  In fact, my worse fear is that a government that doesn’t deserve the powers they are acquiring will receive more power.  In which case, I have to ask the most disturbing question of all.

Why is the government profiting from its own people’s suffering?

My condolences to the families that suffered.  My condolence to all the victims here as well.