Tags

, , , , ,

November is novel writing month and I’m torn.   I think I want to go back and finish a story I wrote a long time ago.  It’s a cool idea, but the novel is definitely broken.  I did it myself.  This was before I knew what my habits as a writer were, as such, I decimated the manuscript in its many, many rewrites.  I’m in love with the the idea.  I understand nihilism a lot more now than I did when I wrote the book, so that definitely will be incorporated into the next draft.  This time I’ll be much more careful and try not to make the same mistakes I made in the past.  It seems like a good project for this november.  I may insert a word bar every day.  We’ll see how it goes.

Rewrites are in many ways harder than writing the first draft.  There is an excitement when you first put an idea down to paper.  The real work comes when you have to look at this manuscript with the eyes of an editor and realize just how bad you sucked the first time and do your best to correct it.  You repeat this process until you are satisfied with the draft and then you send it to someone you trust.  You let them tear the whole thing to pieces, then you listen to them gently explain why this needed to happen.  For the most part, they are right.  Once in while a more paranoid thought enters that maybe the editors are just out to get me right?  I mean, it’s not like I’ve made mistakes on this blog which I don’t cringe at while reading late at night?

Well?

*reads stuff

*shudders

Never mind.

All kidding aside, I’m looking to finish off another video this weekend.  The sound should improve by a very drastic measure compared to the last couple.  I may have to reformat the Rob Osborne interview at some point to do it proper justice.

Finally, if you can look up Dirk Manning’s Write or Wrong book at your local comic shop if you get the chance.  While comics are the main focus of Dirk’s writing advice, there are some great must reads for anyone wanting to get into writing period.  One of my favorite pieces of his is entitled “Killing the Buddha” (this is from memory.)  In it, is the simple lesson everyone going after their passion should always remember:

Dream big.

I think this is a good note to wrap up this blog on.  Look for the book, and keep following your dreams.