Tags

,

I’m thirty-one.

How did this happen?  Time snuck up on me like a bandit.  It and death are double teaming me it seems.  For the first time in a long time I can grasp that concept of my mortality.  However,  I think instead of a midlife crisis (which seems silly.  I could be dead tomorrow for all I know.)  I think I’m just going to keep plugging away doing what I’m doing and not worrying about tomorrow too much in terms of numbers.  Numbers are nice and beautiful and universal, but people’s interpretations of them?  Not so much.

I’ve done a lot.  Still have a long way to go.  If anything I’m writing this today to say to each and every one of you that anything worthwhile in life doesn’t come easy.  Instead of waiting for life to dictate to you how you are going to leave and be and dream, I suggest instead you just do something you want to do, without worry of fear or recrimination.  Life is too short to do anything else.

My vow this year is to kill this word called real – well rather it’s cynical cousin realistic.  I hate that word.  Maybe not the words – words are my lifeblood in what I do, but I just hate the concept and idea of it.  Because to this day I don’t have a clue what that is.  I have less a clue each year about that world to tell you the truth.

I think I’m going to take the agnostic view of things when it comes to that word – I have seen no evidence that the word exists.  Real, much like happy, love, or any idea we try to live by is metaphysics.  The metaphysical real as we like to go by is fluid.  It is one giant stream of consciousness with many interpretations.  If that’s the case, no one has a damn clue what is real.   Realistic is nothing more than fiction.  It’s safe fiction, it has boundaries mind you, complete with a white picket fence.  At the end of the day though, it’s still a make believe fence.  That can all change tomorrow.

If this is true, then it makes no sense to do anything but keep aiming big.  Don’t let anyone tell you differently.  Honestly, there is no master plan in the direction life can take you.  I’ve done some damn cool things and gone in many wild and zany directions doing it.  I wouldn’t have done it any other way.

And tomorrow?  I’ll keep going, wherever, whenever it takes me.

I think that’s my wish for each and every one of you as well.

Keep dreaming and more importantly, keep doing.