Tags

,

I’ve been fighting this impulse for years.  It wasn’t a temptation to do it, but rather quietly looking for that inevitable escape from this chain, this money pit from hell that people embrace for convenience.

I don’t even find the damn machines attractive.  They are ugly hideous beasts that emanate a black hole of finances and despair.  I’ve seen them frustrate my family to the point of apoplexy and even during my stay in arizona wondered what exactly the big deal was.

Cars.  I hate these things.  Yet I got to grow up sometime.

Necessity forced this change.  This crazy idea came to me in a dream about what I need to do to expand my profile.  It involves a road trip and a working vacation.  It sounded exciting – I need change and can’t deny how bored I am in the constant mediocrity.   It’s comfortable but I feel the need to do some new and different things.  So this idea of going around and doing this convention by convention trip sounds like a lot of fun.  I need to do the following to make the trip viable. –

More material.  (Working on it.)

A car (!)

Uh.

A car.

No.

No.

No!

I can’t fight it anymore.  I’m going to need one.  I’ll have to suck it up, save some money, find something that I can deal with.  Maybe I’ll be truly rebellious and give my car a custom paint job that’s rebellious.  Maybe pink or fucia with black trim, creating that 1950s bubble gum diner feel.  It’d definitely grab some attention.  Considering the amount of driving I’m planning on, maybe I should refrain.  It might resolve in some interesting adventures I’d rather avoid.

Uh.

A car.

I’ll get over it.  I know I will.  It’s not the end of the world as I know it.  I may enjoy the ability to get away from it all for awhile.   Sounds
like I have a lot of adventures I want to do.  Now’s the time to get on it isn’t it?

Okay.  I’ve settled it.  I’m getting a car.  I am.    Even though they are money pits, whores and by and large an inconvenient falling apart piece of junk, I can evolve.  I need to evolve.  I can do this.  Yes.  Yes.  Yes!

I think I’ve worked out all the psychological stuff.  I’ve accepted it.  Now I have to work on the material.

I really think I’m growing up a little bit.  Who knew?