Tags

It begins.

Starting today this blog will be doing a little fictioicn in the form of a diary.  For one month I’m doing a little fiction.  With a few exceptions, this month is about a cranky editor trying to do a magazine.  I hope you have fun.   Today is the introduction to Fantastic Journey Magazine.

Hope you like it.

JP

Dear Diary

This is a month long abomination of an experiment that I am absolutely positive will end in disaster.  I am the esteemed editor and chief of Fantastic Journey Magazine.  I started this thing in a printshop at Kinkos about three years ago and to my surprise have slowly managed to carve a niche for myself in my own little corner of the universe.  I have an assistant editor, two interns and a secretary.  Most days, I manage to get along well.  It’s not a bad job.

One of my interns suggested we do a blog for the month of June of 2012 that talks about the construction of a magazine.  I pointed out that this has been done and that this kind of blog is nothing usually but a shameless pandering for money for the forthcoming issue.  My secretary chose to state her opinion that I already am shameless and have nothing to lose putting my thoughts out there for all to see.

She had a point.

So here is the blog.  There are of course a couple of disclaimers.  First off by and large there will be no real names in here but my own.  If you live in the area you can do the math on some of the guilty parties involved.  If you don’t then you don’t and really don’t need to know.  The story itself comes first.  Also, if names are mentioned that usually involves burly men with drugs ranging from ecstasy to cocaine (which is a bad sign.  It means they are successful.)  They usually begin with a letter and I in turn have to part with large sums of hard earned money.  I rather not do that.  I hope you understand.

So I guess I should talk about the magazine and the current problems we have.

We need more sponsors for one.  People read less print nowadays.  I think it’s all part of the apple conspiracy to control all our mass media and make those app thingamaboobies (yes that’s my word for the day) to entice our keyboard typing phone users to read on site for fifty cents.

So that means I have to go abroad.  Today I’m meeting with one of my sponsors.  Kind of worried about them I have to admit.  It’s a local church.  They are very concerned with the contents of my magazine and want me to do something a little more conservative then last month.  In retrospect, doing an article about what really goes on at convenience stores at three am and why certain churches (cults) encourage marriage in this day and age at a young age.  I can see their point of view a little.

Church stuff is usually so boring though.  You have a bible and a place to go when you are not worshipping football to say how sorry you are for all the fun things you did during the week available at any time.  That said, a spiritual issue dealing with different beliefs and what they have in common and key differences isn’t a bad idea…note for later.

This isn’t so bad.  I feel like I’ve accomplished something writing this down.  Now off to see my sponsor.  I hope you keep reading.