Tags

,

I’m sitting on a seat at the Phoenix Airport, waiting to board my flight back to Calgary.  I needed this trip for a lot of reasons.  I needed to hit another con as a (semi) professional.  I wasn’t there so much to sell comics (but I did a bit) I was there to meet up with some old friends, (Accomplished) make new connections (accomplished) and get comfortable behind the camera.

I’ll call that last goal at the moment a solid maybe.  I think I accomplished that one – think being the key word in the equation.  I won’t know for sure until I look at the footage.  That said, I promise you this:  there are quite a few entertaining interviews.  Rob Osborne in my opinion stole the show in the film, allowing himself to be interviewed and actually managing to interview me about my dad in the process.   That said I’m grateful and thankful to each person who let me interview them.  If there was any mess up, it’s on my end.  I’m sure I made mistakes.

Beyond that, I got to be a fanboy for  Vic Mignongna.  I love anime, and Full Metal Alchemist in particular is a great example of just how good that genre can be.  Vic’ and the rest of the voice cast for that series are a big reason for that.  It was a thrill to meet him.  That said, I will bring back my camera and interview him.  He was a super nice dude and it was fun to see him interact.

The other cool fanboy moment, I met Brian Augustyn.  Brian edited one of the very first comics I ever bought (Starman #14 guess staring Superman by Roger Stern and Tom Lyle.) That was just a cool moment.   Sunday mornings are always worth showing up early for the con as you never know who stops by.

Beyond that I had some great conversations with fans that came by about my  book(s) and getting a chance to hang out with two awesome, talented, beautiful women in Stacie Raye and Kristen Denbow.  Who can’t love that weekend?

I had wondered exactly what the heck I was going to do when I came back.  I knew I was going to this con – I didn’t know what would come of it.   Things need to change with me, the real question was which direction would I need to go.  Interviewing Brieanna Brock brought some things to mind.  During that conversation she was talking about a movie she was involved in, and it hit me.  I knew how I wanted to end my movie I was in.  That whole scenario just played out in my head and I said to myself, “I can do this.”

Funny thing is, things kind of line up, sometimes right before your eyes.  The gentleman to the left actually had done a movie in arizona and knew a thing or three about how to find out about insurance.  A gal to my right’s specialty is designing backgrounds for video games…not much different then coming up with a concept for a set.   My head imploded saturday night as I jotted down a three page trailer for the movie.  I could question my sanity but I think I’ll take a good friend’s advice.

“Don’t question it.  Just trust your gut and you’re going to make it happen.”

It’s a lot like looking at a light at the end of the tunnel.  I think to myself, might as well.   So my future is laid before my eyes:  One of two things is going to happen.  Either at the end of year I’m heading to China, OR at the end of the year I’m going to make a movie.   There is no middle ground.  Any way it goes, I’m going down swinging and I’m putting everything behind it.

Finally, some thank yous.  I need to begin with Andy Bohn.  He encouraged me to do this project and without him it wouldn’t have gone off the ground.  So thanks brother.

Kristen and Staci, you both rock.  I was glad to be there with you and appreciated you both for helping me out.   Thanks for allowing me to pursue this project uninhibited.

Thank you Rob Osborne, Brieanna Brock, Andy Bohn, Nei Ruffino, Raven Gregory, Rob Duenas, Travis Hanson, The ensemble Once More With Feeling, Toni Darling,  BigChris, The Cactus Lego Club, The Geek Prom, Natali Sanders, Tom Hutchison, Jenevieve Bromhall, Alfred Trujillo and Milen Parvanov.

Thanks to everyone who I did meet that I didn’t film.  You all were awesome too.

I wished I could have met everybody, am glad of the people I did.  Thank you all.  See you next year.

To those that think I’m crazy doing this:

“It always seems impossible until its done.”  Nelson Mandela