Tags

, , , , , , , ,

By this time next week in phoenix I will be filming my first documentary, with a little assistance from Kristen Denbow and Staci Winston.  So I figured I’d take the time to explain why I’m doing a documentary and what it’s all about.

In short I love comics.  Anyone that’s read anything of mine knows I love the artform.  It’s an amazing thing to see writers, artists, letterers, inkers and editors all come together to tell amazing stories.  If done even decently, it’s a great retelling of the age old struggles of good and evil.  If done well, it can talk about deep things like faith and love and childhood and pretty much anything you can imagine.

And every year people gather to celebrate and promote cool thoughts and ideas at conventions and halls.  A comic convention is the only place you can see artists, models, actors and writers all talk about an artform they love.  That in itself is worth filming.

What I should also point out is that I’ve kind of caught the bug to want to film some things.  It started about two years ago when I worked on my first movie with the very talented people at Dalmation Coast Productions for the Calgary Underground Film Festival.  Trafford Road is a small film, but one I’m proud of doing.  Hell, it even got to be seen in a packed theatre.  I know some writers and artists who don’t have that dream from hollywood come true yet.  I’ve done it.  Cool huh?

I don’t know if there’s any kind of masterplan here but I want to do some more things on my own and I figure a convention is a great place to cut my teeth doing so.  What happens next for the summer is something I hope to mention very very soon.

In the meantime in the coming weeks I will post interviews with the various people I interview at the con, and hopefully put together something half decent for my first film.  I don’t honestly know what to expect.  But that’s the exciting part isn’t it? 

Beyond that, look for another unique piece of prose for the wordpress.  (first week is already written.  Hope to have it all done by the weekend.)  The month of june promises to be productive.

Beyond that, I promise to update all my columns in other places in the weeks to come.  I’ve been behind for far too long.  And hopefully some long awaited comic stuff can happen.

Alright…enough from me for now.

More to come soon.

Inspiration for the day:

Endurance is the crowning quality, And patience all the passion of great hearts

James Russell Lowell

Kick butt out there.